Home > Flashcards > Print Preview
The flashcards below were created by user
on FreezingBlue Flashcards
. What would you like to do?
After becoming a Minnesota resident, how long do you have before you are required to obtain your Minnesota drivers license or permit?
Minnesota allows 60 days to obtain a Minnesota license or permit
What license, if any, is required to drive a tractor or farm implement on public roadways?
No license is required to drive tractors or other farm equipment on public roads
Which of the following groups of equipment are REQUIRED to be installed and in working order to drive on Minnesota roads?
A. Engine, Seatbelts, Rearview mirror
B. Seat, Windshield wipers, Bumper
C. Tires, Muffler, Turn signals
D. Two seperate brake systems, License plate, Horn
D. Two seperate brake systems, License plate, and Horn are all required equipment
Items NOT required include Engine, Seat, and Tires
(this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
What vehicles, besides state authorized emergency vehicles, are authorized to use blue lights and/or strobe lights?
Only snowplows, snow removal equipment, and other road maintenance vehicles may use blue and/or strobe lights
When are headlights REQUIRED to be used on Minnesota roadways?
Your headlights must be turned on at sunset and used until sunrise. They must also be used during weather conditions that include rain, snow, hail, sleet, or fog and any time you cannot clearly see the road ahead for a distance of at least 500 feet.
Regarding your rear license plate, what equipment is REQUIRED to be installed on your vehicle?
A white light bulb MUST illuminate the rear license plate to make it visible at night.
Unless otherwise indicated, what is the speed limit in alleys?
Unless otherwise indicated, what is the speed limit on urban or town roads?
Unless otherwise indicated, what is the speed limit on county and state roads and highways?
If speeding, additional fines will be levied when driving how far over the speed limit?
Additional fines occur when driving 20 mph or more over the legal speed limit
If speeding in a construction zone, what is the penalty or fine?
The penalty is that the fines will be doubled
If caught driving 100 mph or faster, what other penalty or fine will you be penalized with?
Your driving privileges will be revoked for a minimum of 6 months
If you fail to slow down or move over when an emergency vehicle is on the side of the road, what will the fine be?
The fine will be an ADDITIONAL $25
How far before a turn should you activate your turn signals?
Generally, U-turns are allowed when making the U-turn will not affect other traffic. When is it ILLEGAL to make a U-turn?
U-turns are not allowed on interstate freeways. U-turns are also illegal near the tops of hills and on curves where other drivers cannot see you from 1,000 feet away.
What are the speed limit rules when passing?
When passing on a 2 lane highway with a posted speed limit of 55 mph or higher, you may exceed the speed limit by 10 mph to safely pass a vehicle traveling in the same direction
Is it EVER legal to pass on the right?
- There are conditions that allow passing on the right.
If you back up your vehicle or drive in reverse for a short distance on a highway, freeway, or other public road - what penalty can result, if any?
Backing up could result in a charge of reckless or careless driving
When parallel parked, what is the max distance the wheels can be from the curb?
Wheels on the curb side of the vehicle must be within 12 inches of the curb
What is the definition of "Careless Driving?"
Careless driving is defined as driving or stopping a motor vehicle in a way that endangers the lives and safety of people or property.
What is the definition of "Reckless Driving?"
Reckless driving is defined as driving a motor vehicle in a manner that shows "willful or wanton" disregard for the safety of people or property including racing or contest driving.
What is the penalty for failing to stop for a police officer?
It is against the law to use a motor vehicle to flee a police officer on official duty. Anyone who violates this law is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than three years and one day, a fine of not more than $5,000, or both.
If involved in an accident, are you ALWAYS required to notify law enforcement?
- If only property damage resulted, then an exchange of information is acceptable
If involved in a crash where only property damage resulted, information was exchanged, when are you required to file a traffic accident report?
Every driver who is involved in a crash that results in injury, death, or property damage of $1,000 or more must file a traffic crash report within ten days of the incident.
What insurance are you REQUIRED to carry when driving on public roads?
Minnesota drivers are required to carry No-Fault and Liability insurance
What are the rules for using wireless communication devices while driving?
A person may NOT use a wireless communications device, such as a cell phone, to compose, read or send electronic messages while driving. Electronic messages include e-mails and text messages; electronic messaging also includes instant messaging and accessing the Internet.
When a vehicle illegally passes a school bus that has its red flashing lights on and stop arm extended, does law enforcement have to see the violation to cite the driver?
- When a vehicle is used to violate the school bus stop arm law, the owner of the vehicle is guilty of a petty misdemeanor. However, if the owner of the vehicle can prove that another person was driving the vehicle at the time of the stop arm violation, the driver — not the owner — will be charged with the violation.
Are you required to yield to a funeral procession?
- When a funeral procession identifies itself through use of headlights or hazard warning lights, you must yield to the entire procession.
What is a neighborhood electric vehicle and what roads are they allowed on?
An NEV is an electric-powered vehicle that has four wheels and can reach a speed of at least 20, but not more than 25 MPH. NEVs must be titled and registered with DVS. They are only allowed on roads with speed limits of 35 mph or less.
What vehicles are considered "Commercial Vehicles?"
A commercial vehicle is a motor vehicle or combination of motor vehicles weighing more than 26,000 pounds that is used to transport passengers or property. Buses, including school buses of all sizes, and smaller vehicles that have hazardous materials placards are also commercial vehicles.
How far from a railroad crossing arm must you be when it is lowered?
Stop your vehicle at least 10 feet from the nearest rail or gate.
What vehicles are required to stop at a railroad crossing?
Some vehicles, such as passenger vans, buses, and larger trucks are required to stop at all railroad tracks, whether or not a train is present. Do not pass these vehicles. It is illegal to pass any vehicle within 100 feet of a railroad crossing.
What are the three major groups of sign colors, and what do the colors represent?
- Red: Prohibits and commands
- White: Regulates
- Yellow: Warns
- Yellow-green: Warns and controls in pedestrian and bicycle crossings and school areas
- Orange: Warns and controls in construction zones
- Green: Guides and informs
- Blue: Describes services for motorists
- Brown: Indicates historic, cultural, or recreation sites
What is the rule used to space your vehicle from the vehicle in front of you?
- The 3 second rule is used.
- You must be 3 seconds behind the vehicle in front of you.
If you run out of gas on the freeway and have to pull over, what may the law enforcement officer do?
It is illegal to stop or park a motor vehicle on an interstate freeway, except in the event of an emergency. Running out of fuel is not considered an emergency. If this occurs, you could receive a citation.
In detail, what is the Minnesota DWI law?
A person with an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or higher (0.04 if the person is driving a commercial vehicle), who is in control of a moving or parked vehicle, can be arrested for driving while impaired (DWI). If a law enforcement officer can prove that alcohol caused the driver to commit driving errors, he or she can be arrested for DWI at an alcohol concentration level as low as 0.04.
If a law enforcement officer suspects you of driving under the influence, can you refuse to submit to a blood, breath, or urine test?
- It is a crime to refuse to submit to this test. Refusal to take the test will result in a one-year revocation of driving privileges.
What direction do you expect to see bicyclists traveling when they are riding on public roads, with or against traffic?
- With traffic.
- Studies have shown that bicyclists traveling with the flow of traffic are more predictable and results in fewer vehicle/bicycle accidents.
How much distance are you required to put between your vehicle and a bicyclist?
A minimum of 3 feet between the side of your vehicle and the bicyclist.
An orange triangle signifies "Slow-Moving Vehicles."
This is required to be displayed on all vehicles that travel at what maximum speed on public roads?
A. 10 mph
B. 20 mph
C. 30 mph
D. 40 mph
- C. 30 mph
- All slow moving vehicles such as farm implements that travel at speeds of 30 mph or less must display the orange triangle.
What is the BAC level for a driver under the age of 21?
Minnesota has a No Tolerance rule on under age drinking. Therefore, it is illegal for a person under the age of 21 to operate a vehicle with ANY DETECTABLE amount of alcohol in their system.
Do you have an inherent right to drive on public roads in Minnesota?
- Driving in Minnesota is a privilege. Your record is maintained by the MN Dept of Public Safety and if you incur serious or recurring violations, you may lose your privilege.
What would you like to do?
Home > Flashcards > Print Preview