NCAA Baseball Rules

Card Set Information

Author:
Anonymous
ID:
100714
Filename:
NCAA Baseball Rules
Updated:
2011-09-14 13:08:34
Tags:
college rules exam multiple choice answer
Folders:

Description:
NCAA Baseball Rules Multiple Choice Multiple Answer
Show Answers:

Home > Flashcards > Print Preview

The flashcards below were created by user Anonymous on FreezingBlue Flashcards. What would you like to do?


  1. Which of the following are true with regard to the Force Play Slide Rule:

    a. A runner must always slide directly into a base.
    b. It applies to force play situations at any base, regardless of the number of outs.
    c. If the runner makes contact with fielder, even though sliding directly into the base, the Force Play Slide Rule shall be enforced.
    d. With less than two outs, if the Force Play Slide Rule is enforced, no other runners may advance.
    e. If the runners slide or collision is flagrant, the Force Play Slide Rule is enforced, but the player is not ejected – this only applies on collisions at home plate.
    • b. It applies to force play situations at any base, regardless of the number of outs.
    • d. With less than two outs, if the Force Play Slide Rule is enforced, no other runners may advance.
  2. Which of the following statements is true?

    a. A player may never throw from dead ball territory.
    b. All lines that designate dead ball territory are in fact part of the dead ball territory.
    c. If a ball should come apart during playing action, the ball becomes dead immediately.
    d. All lines that designate dead ball territory are in fact part of the live ball territory
    • a. A player may never throw from dead ball territory.
    • d. All lines that designate dead ball territory are in fact part of the live ball territory
  3. No runners. B1's grounder is fielded by F4. F4's throw goes over the first baseman's head and into the dugout. B1 misses first base on his way to second following the overthrow.

    a. B1 is awarded two bases.
    b. B1 is awarded two bases but must touch first base before proceeding with the award.
    c. This is only a one base award.
    d. This is an appeal play for the defense.
    • a. B1 is awarded two bases.
    • d. This is an appeal play for the defense.
  4. From the following list, which ones are correct?

    a. If a partner is 100% certain he has additional information unknown to the umpire making the call, he should approach unsolicited and alert the calling umpire to such info.
    b. The last requirement of an umpire is to get all decisions correct.
    c. Umpires should not seek help on plays in which they are 100% confident in their judgment and view of the play.
    d. Some calls cannot be reversed without creating larger problems.
    • a. If a partner is 100% certain he has additional information unknown to the umpire making the call, he should approach unsolicited and alert the calling umpire to such info.
    • c. Umpires should not seek help on plays in which they are 100% confident in their judgment and view of the play.
    • d. Some calls cannot be reversed without creating larger problems.
  5. In which of the following situations would you correctly call a balk with runners on 1st and 2nd.

    a. While in contact with the rubber, F1 fails to complete a throw to 1st base.
    b. F1 feints a throw to 3rd base and then throws to 1st before disengaging the rubber.
    c. From the rubber, F1 throws to F6 who is playing off 2nd base in his "normal position".
    d. F1 throws to an unoccupied 3rd base attempting to retire a stealing R2.
    e. The knee of F1‟s free leg breaks the plane of the back edge of the pitcher‟s rubber and F1 then throws to 1st base. f. On a throw to 1st base, F1 steps directly to the "45 foot" line and not directly to the bag
    g. From the set position, F1 fails to stop for a "full second" before making his delivery to the batter.
    • a. While in contact with the rubber, F1 fails to complete a throw to 1st base.
    • b. F1 feints a throw to 3rd base and then throws to 1st before disengaging the rubber.
    • e. The knee of F1‟s free leg breaks the plane of the back edge of the pitcher‟s rubber and F1 then throws to 1st base.
  6. In a game being played under the "halted game" provision of NCAA rules, Manager Kelly of the visiting team comes out to remove his pitcher. Smith, the reliever, trots from the bullpen to the mound, takes the ball and throws his first warm up pitch. The heavens now open up and rain washes out the game. When the game resumes the next day, Andrews is on the mound to begin the "suspended game". The opposing team‟s manager objects stating that Smith, the pitcher of record from the previous day, must be on the mound.

    A. The rules do not require Smith to begin the resumed suspended game.

    B. Smith must pitch to one batter, or retire the side before being replaced.
    C. Smith may be replaced immediately only if the offense brings up a pinch hitter.
    A. The rules do not require Smith to begin the resumed suspended game.
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  7. Which of the following are considered "illegal" regarding the NCAA Force Play Slide Rule:

    a. The runner slides out of the baseline in the direction of the fielder and without making contact, alters
    the play of the shortstop making his pivot on the double play.
    b. R1 slides outside the bag or contacts a fielder that made no attempt to complete the double play
    c. The runner slashes or kicks the fielder with either leg.
    d. The runner executes a pop up slide and makes contact with the fielder above 2nd base.
    e. The runner uses a rolling slide but makes no contact with the fielder attempting the pivot.
    f. The runner‟s raised leg makes contact with the fielder above the fielder‟s knee.
    g. The runner slides beyond the bag, makes contact with the shortstop, thus preventing F6 from making
    the relay throw to first base.
    • a. The runner slides out of the baseline in the direction of the fielder and without making contact, alters the play of the shortstop making his pivot on the double play.
    • b. R1 slides outside the bag or contacts a fielder that made no attempt to complete the double play
    • c. The runner slashes or kicks the fielder with either leg.
    • e. The runner uses a rolling slide but makes no contact with the fielder attempting the pivot.
    • f. The runner‟s raised leg makes contact with the fielder above the fielder‟s knee.
  8. With no runners, one out and a 0-2 count on the batter, the pitcher delivers a "quick pitch", at which the batter swings and misses.

    a. Warn the pitcher
    b. Eject the pitcher for a 2nd offense
    c. Count the pitch.
    d. Call "ball-one".
    • a. Warn the pitcher
    • d. Call "ball-one".
  9. With runners on 1st and 2nd, the offense attempts a double steal. F2 comes up throwing to 3rd, pumps once and has to stop because the batter has stepped out of the box and blocks his throwing lane. F2 now wheels and throws to 2nd base. R1, who got a late jump, is obstructed by the second baseman before being tagged out by the shortstop after a great throw from F2. As the umpire you will:

    a. Award R1 2nd base on the obstruction
    b. Call B1 out
    c. Ignore the interference
    d. Return R2 to 2nd base and R1 to 1st base.
    • b. Call B1 out
    • d. Return R2 to 2nd base and R1 to 1st base.
  10. A half swing shall be called a strike if:

    A. The umpire judges the barrel head of the bat crossed the front edge of home plate.
    B. The umpire judges the batter offered at the pitch.
    C. The umpire judges the barrel head of the bat crossed the batter's front hip.
    D. The umpire judges that that batter‟s wrists broke in his attempt
    C. The umpire judges the barrel head of the bat crossed the batter's front hip.
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  11. R1 no outs, 3-2 count. The batter checks his swing on the 3-2 pitch. The plate ump calls ball four on the hitter. R1 has begun a slow advance to 2nd upon hearing "ball four" called by the UIC. The catcher immediately asks the UIC to „check‟ with the proper base umpire. The base umpire reverses the call to strike three and the B1 is declared out. The catcher fires to 2nd base and R1 is tagged out before reaching 2nd.

    a. Return R1 to 1st base and "get the call right". b. R1 is awarded 2nd base
    c. Call B1 out.
    d. Call R1 out.
    e. Leave B1 at 1st base.
    • c. Call B1 out.
    • d. Call R1 out.
  12. Which of the following apply to the offensive conference rule?

    a. There is a maximum of 3 offensive conferences per game, including extra innings
    b. A coach must be warned before being penalized after maximum # of conferences is used.
    c. Unused conferences may be carried over to extra innings.
    d. UIC must record offensive conferences.
    e. No charged offensive conference if it is taken during a defensive time out.
    f. All of the above
    g. None of the above.
    • b. A coach must be warned before being penalized after maximum # of conferences is used.
    • c. Unused conferences may be carried over to extra innings.
    • d. UIC must record offensive conferences.
    • e. No charged offensive conference if it is taken during a defensive time out.
  13. Which of the following would result in the offensive team being given the option of accepting the result of the play or having the batter bat again with the same count. (a "do-over")

    a. On a play in which a balk is called, the batter and all base runners reach their advance base
    b. A catch is made by the right fielder using a first baseman's mitt.
    c. On defense, a play is made by a disqualified player.
    d. Catcher's interference occurs on a play in which B1 and all base runners advance one base.
    e. All of the above
    f. None of the above.
    • b. A catch is made by the right fielder using a first baseman's mitt.
    • c. On defense, a play is made by a disqualified player.
  14. The left-handed B1 attempts a drag bunt, but misses the curveball in the dirt. F2 scoops the sinker off the ground and throws to 1st to try and retire R1 who had taken a big lead on the bunt attempt. F2‟s throw hits B1 approximately 8 feet up the 1st base line and goes out of play. You should:

    a. Call B1 out for interference.
    b. Return R1 to 1st base.
    c. Award R1 two bases from the time of F2‟s throw.
    d. Warn B1 and eject him for a second offense.
    e. None of the above.
    • a. Call B1 out for interference.
    • b. Return R1 to 1st base.
  15. No outs. Runner on 3rd. B1 hits a grounder to the pitcher. R3 is obstructed between 3rd and home. R3 subsequently interferes with F5‟s attempt to retire the batter-runner, who is advancing toward 2nd base.

    a. Award B1 2nd base.
    b. R3 may or may not be awarded home.
    c. Rule Obstruction
    d. This is a delayed dead ball situation.
    e. Call Batter out
    f. Rule interference on R3.
    • b. R3 may or may not be awarded home.
    • c. Rule Obstruction
    • d. This is a delayed dead ball situation.
    • e. Call Batter out
    • f. Rule interference on R3.
  16. B1 lofts a high fly ball to right field which is caught by F9. The batter is obstructed by the pitcher before B1 reaches 1st base. You correctly:

    a. Award B1 2nd base on the obstruction
    b. Award B1 1st base on the obstruction
    c. Call B1 out.
    d. Ignore the obstruction.
    • c. Call B1 out.
    • d. Ignore the obstruction.
  17. B2 singles and steals second base while the improper batter, B4, is at the plate. B4 then singles scoring B2. An immediate appeal is made by the defense.

    a. The run counts.
    b. B3 is out
    c. B4 is out
    d. B3 is the next batter
    e. B4 is the next batter
    f. Return B2 to 2nd base
    h. Return B2 to 1st base
    • b. B3 is out
    • e. B4 is the next batter
    • f. Return B2 to 2nd base
  18. Runners on 1st and 3rd. R1 is stealing when the batter hits a Texas Leaguer that falls in short right field. F4 retrieves the ball and throws the ball into the 1t base dugout in his attempt to retire B1. At the time of F4‟s throw, R1 had reached and touched 2nd base. As the UIC you would:

    a. Award R1 third base
    b. Award R1 home
    c. Score R3
    d. Keep R3 at third.
    e. Award B1 1st base
    f. Award B1 2nd base
    • a. Award R1 third base
    • c. Score R3
    • f. Award B1 2nd base
  19. Which of the following are correct statements regarding the conditions for visiting the pitcher.

    a. A coach is allowed 3 "free" trips to the mound during a regulation game.
    b. A coach is prohibited from making a second trip to the same pitcher in an inning.
    c. If a coach announces he is taking a "free" trip, he cannot remove his pitcher.
    d. A coach is limited to one free trip in the "extra" innings of an extra-inning game.
    e. A pitcher must be removed each time a coach visits after free trips are exhausted.
    f. A coach's trip ends when he leaves the 18 foot circle of the pitcher's mound.
    g. The coach immediately return to the dugout when a reliever begins his warm-up.
    • a. A coach is allowed 3 "free" trips to the mound during a regulation game.
    • e. A pitcher must be removed each time a coach visits after free trips are exhausted.
    • f. A coach's trip ends when he leaves the 18 foot circle of the pitcher's mound.
    • g. The coach immediately return to the dugout when a reliever begins his warm-up.
  20. R2, one out. On the two-strike pitch, the batter swings and misses. The ball passes the catcher and lodges in the umpire‟s equipment.

    a. Award the batter 2nd base.
    b. The batter is out.
    c. Award the batter 1st base.
    d. Award R2 3rd base
    e. Leave R2 at 2nd base.
    • c. Award the batter 1st base.
    • d. Award R2 3rd base
  21. R1, R2, two outs. The pitcher is called for a balk but continues the pitch. B4 doubles to the gap in left center but misses first base. Both R1 and R2 score on the play. The defense properly appeals B4's missing first base.

    a. Allow R1 and R2 to score, leave B4 at first base.
    b. The batter is out, no runs score
    c. The play stands.
    d. Bring B4 back to the plate, award R1 and R2 one base each.
    e. Allow R1 and R2 to score but leave B4 at the plate.
    f. If all runners, including the batter-runner advance at least one base, ignore the balk
    • b. The batter is out, no runs score
    • f. If all runners, including the batter-runner advance at least one base, ignore the balk
  22. R1. The batter gets a base hit to right and as R1 rounds second base, he stumbles and scrambles back to 2nd. The batter BR has rounded first and is heading to second when the first baseman obstructs him and he is called out on a close play at 2nd base. U1 calls the obstruction committed by F3.

    a. R1 stays at 2nd base.
    b. R1 is moved to 3rd base.
    c. BR is awarded 1st base.
    d. BR is awarded 2nd base
    e. Award BR third base
    f. Award R1 home.
    • b. R1 is moved to 3rd base.
    • d. BR is awarded 2nd base
  23. R1, R2. The batter singles to left field. F7 fields the ball on the second bounce and fires to home as R2 is clearly obstructed by F5 just after he touches and rounds 3rd base. R2 stops and returns to 3rd. When the dust settles, you call time. The offensive manager is screaming that the run scores. The defense argues that no run scores.

    a. Score R2
    b. Leave R2 at 3rd base.
    c. This obstruction allows R2 at least one base beyond the last held base
    d. This obstruction does require an award of bases.
    • a. Score R2
    • c. This obstruction allows R2 at least one base beyond the last held base
  24. R2 is standing on second base. The batter hits a high pop-up and as the shortstop drifts over following the flight of the ball, he makes contact with the base runner who is standing on 2nd base. The contact is not intentional, but it causes F6 to drop the ball.

    a. R2 must vacate the base and allow F6 to catch the ball.
    b. R2 is out for interference.
    c. The ball is dead.
    d. R2 is not out.
    e. The ball remains alive.
    f. Call BR out for R2's interference.
    • d. R2 is not out.
    • e. The ball remains alive.
  25. R3 and R2. The pitcher balks as he delivers to the batter. The batter hits a fly ball to the right-centerfield alley with R2 and R3 tagging after the catch. R3 scores but R2 is thrown out on a close play at the plate.

    a. Score R3.
    b. The batter is out on the catch.
    c. R2's out at the plate stands.
    d. The batter is returned to the plate.
    e. The offensive manager has the option of accepting the result of the play
    f. The offensive manager has no option in this case.
    • a. Score R3.
    • d. The batter is returned to the plate.
    • e. The offensive manager has no option in this case.
  26. B1 grounds to F6. The shortstop‟s throw is not in time to get B1 at first, but B1 misses 1st base as he over runs the bag. What is the proper mechanic in this situation?

    a. Signal B1 safe
    b. Call B1 out.
    c. Call B1 out on appeal if the appeal is made before B1 returns to 1st base.
    • a. Signal B1 safe
    • c. Call B1 out on appeal if the appeal is made before B1 returns to 1st base.
  27. R1, R3. No outs, 2-2 count. The pitcher starts from the windup position. R3 breaks for home on F1's first movement. With a Southpaw at bat, the catcher steps out into the back of the right handed batter‟s box before the ball is released, then receives the pitch and tags out R3. The batter did not attempt to swing.

    a. The out stands.
    b. Award R3 home.
    c. Return R3 to 3rd base.
    d. Award R1 2nd base.
    e. Leave R1 at first base.
    f. Award B1 first base.
    g. Leave B1 at the plate with the count at 2-2.
    • b. Award R3 home.
    • d. Award R1 2nd base.
    • g. Leave B1 at the plate with the count at 2-2.
  28. No outs. B5 is batting in place of the proper batter, B4, and draws a walk to load the bases. B4 now bats and B3 and B2 score on two successive wild pitches. With the count at 2-0, B4 hits a home run and the defense immediately appeals batting out of order.

    a. B4 is declared out
    b. B5 is declared out.
    c. B6 is out.
    d. The two runs that scored on wild pitches stand
    e. The runs that scored on wild pitches are disallowed.
    f. B6 is now the proper batter
    g. B7 is the proper batter
    • c. B6 is out.
    • d. The two runs that scored on wild pitches stand
    • g. B7 is the proper batter
  29. R1 and R3, one out. The offense executes a hit-and-run with R1 moving on the pitch. B1 hits a deep fly ball to left center that is caught. R1 touches 2nd base on his way to 3rd, but misses second base as he returns to first. F8 throws to first but his throw is wild and rolls toward the 1st base dugout. R1 now tags up and beats the catcher‟s (who was backing up the play) throw to second base. The defense now legally appeals that R1 missed second base on his way back to 1st.R3 has tagged up and scored

    a. The appeal is upheld.
    b. R1 is out.
    c. Deny the appeal.
    d. Leave R1 at 2nd base.
    e. Count R3's run.
    f. Disallow R3's run
    • c. Deny the appeal.
    • d. Leave R1 at 2nd base.
    • e. Count R3's run.
  30. Which of the following would result in the Designated Hitter Position being "terminated" for the remainder of the game.

    a. A team goes from a nine-man lineup to a ten-man lineup.
    b. The pitcher moves to a defensive position
    c. The a reserve player pinch hits for the Designated Hitter
    d. The DH is moved to a defensive position
    e. The shortstop becomes the pitcher
    f. A substitute pinch hits anywhere in the batting order and then becomes the pitcher
    • b. The pitcher moves to a defensive position
    • d. The DH is moved to a defensive position
    • e. The shortstop becomes the pitcher
    • f. A substitute pinch hits anywhere in the batting order and then becomes the pitcher
  31. R3, R2, 1 out. The catcher reaches for the pitch and contacts the hitter's bat on the forward swing. The batter lifts a fly ball to right field that allows R3 to tag up and score. R2 tags but holds up at second as the throw goes to third base.

    a. Call "time!" at the end of playing action; award the batter first base and return R3 to third base.
    b. Since there is a runner on third that tagged up, you must allow the run and also award the batter first base.
    c. R3 is allowed to score, R2 should be advanced to third, the batter is out.
    d. R3 must be returned to third, R2 remains at second, and the batter is awarded first base.
    e. Offer the coach the option of accepting the result of the play
    • a. Call "time!" at the end of playing action; award the batter first base and return R3 to third base.
    • d. R3 must be returned to third, R2 remains at second, and the batter is awarded first base.
  32. A suspended player may not…

    a. Communicate with any team personnel or umpires.
    b. Take part in any team practices during his suspension.
    c. Be dressed in game uniform for the contest.
    d. Be in the stadium or on the field once pre-game activities have started.
    e. Take part in any pre-game activities at the site of competition.
    • a. Communicate with any team personnel or umpires.
    • c. Be dressed in game uniform for the contest.
    • d. Be in the stadium or on the field once pre-game activities have started.
    • e. Take part in any pre-game activities at the site of competition.
  33. R1 and R2. Less than two outs. On the first pitch, the offense executes a successful double steal while the batter takes the pitch. Prior to the next pitch, the plate umpire observes that B1's bat has a flat side.

    a. Return R1 and R2 to first and second base respectively.
    b. Declare B1 out.
    c. Leave R1 and R2 at second and third bases.
    d. Require B1 to get a bat that is legal and put the illegal bat in the umpire's locker room or another secure place.
    e. Have the altered bat removed from the game
    • b. Declare B1 out.
    • c. Leave R1 and R2 at second and third bases.
    • e. Have the altered bat removed from the game
  34. When a running lane violation occurs, which of the following apply:

    a. The throw must be made from "the box" (the area mostly in front of and around home plate)
    b. A throw must be made
    c. The throw must be a "quality throw"
    d. A fielder must be in position to receive the throw
    e. The throw must make contact with the batter-runner
    • a. The throw must be made from "the box" (the area mostly in front of and around home plate)
    • b. A throw must be made
    • c. The throw must be a “quality throw”
    • d. A fielder must be in position to receive the throw
  35. A batter's legal initial position is described as:

    a. Both feet completely within the box (not touching any line)
    b. Both feet completely within the outer edges of the batter's box.
    c. No closer than 6 inches from the inner edge of home plate
    d. Any position desired as long as each foot is in contact with the box lines
    • b. Both feet completely within the outer edges of the batter's box.
    • c. No closer than 6 inches from the inner edge of home plate
  36. If the Designated Hitter is not the pitcher and is replaced offensively:

    a. The original DH may replace the pitcher at the time of substitution
    b. The individual may return to the lineup in another capacity
    c. The DH is terminated for the remainder of the game
    d. The DH may become the pitcher, be subsequently removed from the mound and remain as the DH
    • a. The original DH may replace the pitcher at the time of substitution
    • d. The DH may become the pitcher, be subsequently removed from the mound and remain as the DH
  37. R1. A right-handed relief pitcher enters the game. The offensive manager now substitutes a left-handed hitter to face the right-handed relief pitcher. Once the pinch hitter has been put into the game, the pitcher switches his glove to his right hand and prepares to throw left-handed.

    a. The pitcher may switch throwing hands upon the arrival of a pinch hitter.
    b. After having declared which hand he will deliver the pitch with, the pitcher may switch hands at any time.
    c. This is not legal.
    d. After having declared, if the pitcher switches hands, balk him.
    • c. This is not legal.
    • d. After having declared, if the pitcher switches hands, balk him.
  38. Team "A" arrives at the game site with 10 players and begins game one of a double header using a Designated Hitter. In the 3rd inning, the catcher is ejected for violation of the "player's code of ethics". In this case, NCAA rules state that:

    a. The DH may not enter the game on defense
    b. If the DH began the game as the P/DH and had been removed as the pitcher, team "A" forfeits.
    c. If the DH began the game as the P/DH and had been removed as the DH, he may become the catcher.
    d. Team "A" may only use a 9 man lineup in game two of the double header.
    • b. If the DH began the game as the P/DH and had been removed as the pitcher, team "A" forfeits.
    • c. If the DH began the game as the P/DH and had been removed as the DH, he may become the catcher.
    • d. Team "A" may only use a 9 man lineup in game two of the double header.
  39. A pitcher develops a blister on his pitching hand that begins to bleed during playing action.

    a. The medical staff has twelve minutes to get the bleeding stopped.
    b. The defensive team must start a substitute pitcher warming up immediately.
    c. The umpire may allow a flesh-colored band aid to be placed over the blister.
    d. The decision to substitute for this player must be made within 10 minutes
    • b. The defensive team must start a substitute pitcher warming up immediately.
    • d. The decision to substitute for this player must be made within 10 minutes
  40. Which of the following are true statements:

    A. The designated hitter may bat only for the starting pitcher.
    B. An assistant coach is ineligible to compete as a player.
    C. The Designated hitter must bat once before being substituted for.
    D. A 10 run mercy rule may be enforced by mutual consent of the coaches.
    D. A 10 run mercy rule may be enforced by mutual consent of the coaches.
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  41. R3. The runner from third attempts to steal home. The catcher shoves the batter out of his way in the process of his catching the pitch in front of the plate. He then tags out R3.

    a. This is batter interference, R3 is out.
    b. Call "Time!" Award R3 home but keep the batter at the plate. Add a ball or strike to the previous count depending on where the pitch would have crossed the plate.
    c. Call a balk on the pitcher.
    d. Award R3 home
    e. Award The batter first base
    • c. Call a balk on the pitcher.
    • d. Award R3 home
    • e. Award The batter first base
  42. R1 is on first with 2 outs and his team down 3 runs in the bottom of the ninth inning. The count on the batter is 1-1. B4 laces the next pitch toward right-center field. F4, unable to snag the line drive, throws his glove and deflects the fair ball into foul territory down the right field line. R1 scores and B4 is thrown out trying for an inside-the-park home run. When the dust settles, the offensive coach appeals that the 2nd baseman is playing this half inning with a first baseman‟s mitt. Upon examination, it is determined that F4‟s glove is indeed a mitt. You as the Umpire-in-Chief will:

    a. Declare an immediate dead ball when F4‟s thrown mitt touches the batted ball.
    b. Score R1 and B4
    c. Score R1 award B4 3rd base
    d. If his coach requests, allow B4 to bat again with R1 at first base and two out
    e. Score R1 and declare B4 out at home plate
    f. Declare a delayed dead ball when F4's thrown mitt touches the batted ball
    • d. If his coach requests, allow B4 to bat again with R1 at first base and two out
    • e. Score R1 and declare B4 out at home plate
  43. The bases are loaded with 2 outs when B6 hits a long fly ball to center field. F8 cannot catch up with the ball. The ball strikes the metal top rail of the center field fence, caroms back toward home plate where it hits the oncoming center fielder in the head. F8‟s momentum causes the ball to again carom off his head and back over the center field fence. You as the UIC:

    a. Declare this a home run.
    b. Declare a ground rule double
    c. Award B6 3 bases
    d. Score 2 Runs
    e. Score 3 Runs
    f. Score 4 Runs
    • a. Declare a ground rule double
    • d. Score 2 Runs
  44. R1 and R2, with a 3-2 count on B1 and 2 outs. The pitcher balks while delivering a pitch that bounces in front of home plate and rolls to the backstop. R2 races around 3rd base and is called out when the catcher makes a nice throw to F1 who is covering home. R1 ends up at 2nd base. You as the umpire:

    a. Enforce the balk
    b. Ignore the balk
    c. Declare an Immediate dead ball
    d. This is a delayed dead ball situation
    • b. Ignore the balk
    • d. This is a delayed dead ball situation

What would you like to do?

Home > Flashcards > Print Preview