College Baseball Rules True/False

Card Set Information

Author:
Anonymous
ID:
101448
Filename:
College Baseball Rules True/False
Updated:
2011-09-13 10:56:47
Tags:
College Baseball Rules True False
Folders:

Description:
College Baseball Rules Questions True/False
Show Answers:

Home > Flashcards > Print Preview

The flashcards below were created by user Anonymous on FreezingBlue Flashcards. What would you like to do?


  1. Bases loaded, one out. BR hits a home run over the right field fence. As R1 is watching the ball, BR passes him between first and second. Ruling: Immediate dead ball. B1 is out, no runs score
    False
  2. With R3, one out, count is 2-1. F1 is in the set position. As R3 breaks early for home, F1 disengages the rubber and throws to F2. BR swings and lines a single to center field. Ruling: Interference. B1 is out and R3 must return to 3rd base.
    False
  3. R2 is attempting to score on BR‟s single to center field. F8‟s throw home takes the catcher up the line toward 3rd base. Just as he‟s about to field the ball, R2 inadvertently collides with F2 causing the ball to roll to the backstop. BR ends up on 2nd base. UIC rules obstruction on F2
    False
  4. 2 outs, runner on 1st and 2nd, top of the ninth with the home team ahead 2-1, with a 2-2 count. The pitcher balks but delivers anyway. The batter singles to center field and the center fielder throws out the runner from 2nd at the plate to apparently end the game. At the time of F2‟s tag on R2, R1 (who fell down) had not attained 2nd base. B1 is standing on first base. Ruling: Legal play, game over.
    False
  5. R2. The batter's line-drive single one hops the right fielder. R2 missed third on his way to the plate. The throw arrives ahead of R2 and a rundown ensues. R2 is obstructed during the rundown, and is then tagged out. The defense then makes a proper appeal that R2 missed third. Ruling: R2 is awarded home on the obstruction, but is out on appeal for missing 3rd base.
    True
  6. Runner on 2nd and 3rd , no outs. The runner is attempting to steal home as the batter bunts the ball to the pitcher as R2 holds 2nd base. The pitcher throws home but the catcher‟s swipe tag misses the runner, who is adjudged safe. The catcher then throws toward 1st to retire the batter-runner. The throw hits the runner in the back while his body is entirely in fair territory. Ruling: R3 scores, B1 is out and R2 must remain at 2nd.
    True
  7. R1, R3. The batter hits a slow roller to the pitcher who fields a high bounding ball approximately 10 feet in front of the rubber. F2 pivots and throws to first. His throw hits BR. At that time, BR was running in fair territory with both feet completely inside (to the left of) the 45‟ running lane. R1 and R3 were moving to their next base but had not reached those bases before the incident at 1st. Ruling: B1 is out. R1 and R3 must return to TOP bases.
    False
  8. R3, R2, no outs. The batter hits a ground ball to the short stop. His throw to the catcher is in time for the catcher to tag out R3. R3 maliciously contacts the catcher prior to touching home plate. R2 (between 2nd and 3rd)moves up to third base and the batter remained at first base. UIC calls interference on R3. R3 is out, R1 remains at 1st base and R2 moves up to third base.
    False
  9. R1, R3, one out, 1-0 count on the batter. R1 attempts a steal of second, the batter swings and misses the pitch and interferes with the catcher's throw. The home plate umpire calls, "that‟s interference" but lets the play continue. The catcher's throw retires R1 at second base. On the throw to second, R3 breaks for the plate and is safe on a close play. UIC calls R1 out, and returns R3 to third base.
    False
  10. R1, R2, no outs. The batter bunts in an attempt to move the runners up. The ball is rolling foul with little chance of going fair. In his frustration for not getting the bunt down safely, the batter intentionally kicks the ball. UIC rules interference and calls B1 out.
    True
  11. In a situation where a player is bleeding, the decision to substitute for that player must be made with 15 minutes from the time play is stopped.
    False
  12. Coach Roberts strongly disagrees with an umpire’s decision during a game and pulls his team off the field. By rule, Coach Roberts is suspended for the next three games.
    False
  13. After being ejected, the home coach refuses to leave the field. After several warnings, and the coach’s continued refusal to leave, the UIC is justified in forfeiting the game.
    False
  14. R2, R3, 2 out. Eastern Nazarene’s DH (Leeds) doubles and is thrown out trying for 3rd base as R2 and R3 score ahead of the tag. Both teams change sides and as the Brandeis lead off hitter approaches the plate, Brandeis coach Pete Varney appeals to the UIC that Leeds batted out of turn. You, as the UIC, check to scorebook and allow the appeal. You are correct in your ruling.
    True
  15. B1 bunts a pitch which bounces directly up off of the plate and strikes the bat a 2nd time over fair territory. At the time of the “double strike”, B1 was in the batter’s box. You rule a foul ball.
    True
  16. F6 intentionally drops a declared infield fly, picks up the ball and tags R2 who broke for 3rd when the ball was dropped. You correctly rule B1 and R2 out.
    True
  17. An immediate dead ball occurs any time a pitched ball touches a batter or a runner.
    True
  18. R1. During an attempt to field a wild throw after a pickoff attempt, F2 (catcher) deflects the ball into the dugout. You award all runners 2 bases from the “Time of the Pitch”.
    True
  19. In the case of a declared or undeclared infield fly, the ball is alive and runners advance at their own risk.
    True
  20. B1 takes his place in the batters box with an altered bat. Before the first pitch, the UIC notices that the bat is flattened on one side. UIC calls B1 out for using an altered bat.
    False
  21. After the last out of the first game of double header, Coach Smith curses the UIC over a strike call and receives a “Post-Game-Ejection”. Coach Smith in ineligible to be in the dugout for game 2.
    True
  22. Uniformed team personnel may sit in the stands for the purpose of charting pitches or videotaping games.
    False
  23. The “10-Run Rule” may be invoked after 5 innings of a 9 inning game.
    False
  24. After an ejection, the umpire must file a suspension report with the offending team’s Athletic Director and the Conference Administrator.
    True
  25. F2 is in the act of making his throw to retire a stealing 1. B1, in making his normal follow-thru on a swing, unintentionally interferes with F2’s throw. The UIC calls B1 out for interference and returns R1 to 1st base.
    False
  26. When the DH and pitcher both enter on defense at the same time, their coach is required to immediately designate the batting positions of the new and previous pitcher.
    True
  27. R2, while touching 2nd base, unintentionally interferes with F4 who is attempting to field a grounder up the middle. F4 is unable to field the ball and B1 reaches safely. You are correct in ruling no interference on the play.
    True
  28. R1, R2, R3. F1 is in the windup position with his foot touching, but off the end of the rubber. You rule this an illegal position.
    False
  29. After a balk is called, the ball becomes dead when a fielder gains or maintains possession within the infield.
    True
  30. R1, two out, 3-2 count on the batter. F1 balks, delivers strike 3 to the batter and the ball gets by F1 and rolls to the backstop. F2 retrieves the ball and throws R1 out at 3rd. You allow the out and keep B1 at the plate with a 3-2 count.
    True
  31. B1 bunts the pitch which is fielded by F5 approximately 30 feet up the 3rd base line. F5’s throw strikes B1, who is running completely in fair territory about 5 feet from 1st base. You rule B1 out on a running lane violation.
    False
  32. R1. The left-handed B1 attempts a drag bunt, but misses the curveball in the dirt. F2 scoops the sinker off the ground and throws to 1st to try and retire R1 who had taken a big lead on the bunt attempt. F2’s throw hits B1 approximately 8 feet up the 1st base line and goes out of play. You rule interference, call B1 out and return R1 to first base.
    True
  33. R1, R3, No outs. F2 feints a throw to 3rd base, and without disengaging the rubber, wheels and throws to 1st in an attempt to retire R1. You rule balk and advance both runners a base.
    True
  34. After a dead ball, the only requirement for the UIC to signal play is that the pitcher be on the rubber with the ball.
    True
  35. R2. The batter hits a pop-up near the dead ball line. F5 makes the catch in live ball territory, but his momentum carries him over the dead ball line. While in DBT, F5 attempts to throw the ball back to his pitcher and accidentally drops the ball. You allow the out and score R2.
    False
  36. B1 attempts a bunt and fouls off the pitch. When he made contact with the ball, his heel was on the inner line of the batter’s box, but his toe was touching home plate. You correctly rule B1 out for an illegally batted ball.
    True
  37. Under the provisions of the NCAA Designated hitter rule, it is not permissible to go from a 10-man lineup (DH in use) to a 9-man lineup (P/DH) and then back to a lineup of 10 players (DH utilized again).
    False
  38. Coach Zaleski is making his 2nd trip of the 3rd inning to his pitcher. On his way to the mound, he indicates to the umpires that he wants his left hander from the bullpen. The southpaw then proceeds to take 3 more warm-up pitchers from the bullpen mound. When he arrives at the game mound, you inform him he has only 5 warm-up tosses remaining. You are correct in your ruling.
    True
  39. Runners on 2nd and 3rd, One out. B1 flies deep to center and F8 makes the catch. R3 tags and scores. R2 holds at 2nd base. When the ball is returned to the infield, the defense appeals R3 leaving early. R2 knows that R3 did indeed leave his base early and breaks for 3rd as F5 starts to make his appeal. F5 instead of tagging 3rd, makes a play on R2 and tags him out for the 3rd out. The defense has now lost its opportunity to appeal R3’s leaving early.
    False
  40. A designated hitter may bat in the third baseman's spot when the head coach makes a double switch in his lineup?
    False
  41. Under the ECAC and NCAA lightning policy, you must wait a minimum of 20 minutes after the last bolt of lightning before resuming any baseball game.
    False
  42. During cold weather conditions it is permissible for a base coach to wear a wind shirt over his uniform.
    False
  43. Before ejecting a coach for arguing balls and strikes, the umpire should issue an official bench warning.
    True
  44. Roger Williams and Southern Vermont are playing a “two-seven inning double header” RW is down 13-1 after 5 innings. By agreement of the coaches, you end the contest, invoking the 10-run rule. Under NCAA rules, you are correct in allowing this.
    False
  45. With no outs and the winning run at 2nd base, the defense brings in a right-handed reliever. The count is at 1-1 on the next hitter when the offensive manager pinch hits for him. The defensive coach now calls time and brings in his ace left handed closer. This is legal.
    False
  46. 3-1 Count on the batter. F1, while off the rubber but still on the dirt of the pitchers mound, “goes to his mouth”. You as the UIC correctly call a ball four on the batter.
    False
  47. After a single by the batter, the defense is going to try the hidden ball play. The pitcher is about 2 feet to the side of and not in contact with the rubber when the 1st baseman, with the ball in his glove, tags the runner who had strayed off 1st base. You immediately call a balk and advance the runner to 2nd.
    True
  48. NCAA rules state that a runner shall be out if hit with a fair batted ball before it touches an infielder or an umpire and before passing all infielders.
    True
  49. Coach Smith is ejected for arguing balls and strikes. He leaves quietly, sits in the stands down the far right field line and has no further contact with his team. You may allow this as long as he has no type of communication with his team.
    False
  50. Runners on 2nd and 3rd, no outs. F7, who was pinch hit for in the 3rd , inning is again playing left field. Batter hits a fly ball to left which is caught by F7. Both runners tag. R3 scores and R2 is thrown out at third. Time is called and the offensive coach appeals to the UIC that F7 is a disqualified player. In this situation, the offense has the option of accepting the result of the play or having the batter hit again.
    True
  51. If the pitcher is pitching from the set position with no base runners, he is not required to make a discernable stop before delivering to the plate.
    True
  52. With a 1-2 count on him B1 freezes and is hit (makes no attempt to avoid) by a fastball which is clearly within the vertical lines of the batters box. After you call time, you award B1 first base.
    True
  53. The third baseman is tracking down a foul fly ball along the dead ball line near the dugout. As he reaches across the line delineating dead/live ball, a member of the opposing team interferes with the catch. You rule the batter out
    False
  54. The offense is attempting a suicide squeeze as R3 breaks early. The pitcher notices R3 and steps back off the rubber with his pivot foot. As F1 throws home to retire R3, the batter bunts the ball fair. You immediately call the batter out for interference and return R3 to 3rd base.
    False
  55. Runners on 2nd and 3rd. F1 is in the windup position with the ball in his glove, which is chest high. He reaches up with his pitching hand adjusts the ball momentarily, then drops his pitching hand to his side. A moment later he begins his delivery. In this situation, a Balk should be called.
    False
  56. The first baseman drifts toward the stands to field a foul pop-up. As he reaches into the grandstand to make the catch, a spectator intentionally grabs his mitt. You are sure he would have made the catch had the fan not interfered. You rule spectator interference and award the out.
    False
  57. B1 approaches the plate wearing a batting helmet with tape covering the left ear hole. You tell him that the helmet is illegal and cannot be used. B1 refuses to change and is immediately ejected from the game. You are correct in ejecting him.
    True
  58. As a coach confers with his pitcher (a free trip), the left fielder (who will probably relieve F1 if he falters) decides to take a few warm-up throws with the bullpen catcher. You rule this illegal under NCAA rules.
    True
  59. Runner on 3rd with a 1-2 count on the batter, who hits a fly ball to left field. R3 tags and is thrown out at home on a fine throw by the left fielder. Time is called and the offensive coach appeals to you that the left fielder made the catch using a 1st baseman’s mitt. The coach wants the play voided. You agree and return R3 to 3rd. B1 retakes his position in the batters box with the count at 1-2.
    True
  60. After the batter triples to lead off the inning, the defense is attempting the hidden ball trick. The third baseman still has the ball as the catcher (who’s not in on it) calls and is granted time. Without the ball, the pitcher assumes his position on the rubber as R3 steps off 3rd base to take his lead. F5 now tags R3 with the ball. You immediately balk the pitcher and score R3.
    False
  61. All team players or coaches who, for any reason, leave their positions during a fight shall be ejected and suspended for the next three regularly scheduled games, including double headers and/or post season contests.
    True
  62. 2 outs, runner on 2nd, top of the ninth with the home team ahead 2-1. The pitcher balks but delivers anyway. The batter singles to center field and the center fielder throws out the runner from 2nd at the plate to apparently end the game. The visiting team manager, however, informs the umpire that he wants the balk enforced, putting his runner at 3rd base and bringing his batter back to bat. The umpires agree
    False
  63. A checked swing should be called a strike if the barrel head of the bat crosses the front edge of home plate.
    False
  64. The batter swings and misses for strike three as the ball bounces off the catcher’s chest protector and bounds away from the catcher up the first base line in fair territory.. In his haste to reach 1st base safely, the batter inadvertently kicks the ball into the 1st base dugout. You as the UIC correctly award him first base.
    True
  65. One out, runner on 1st. The batter hits an inside-the-park home-run. The runner from 1st, however, missed home plate. Following a sliding tag play at the plate on which the batter-runner was ruled safe, the runner from 1st comes back to touch the plate. The catcher then appeals to the plate umpire that the runner from 1st missed home plate. The runner is out
    True
  66. One out, runner on 1st. The pitcher balks as he attempts to pick the runner off 1st and throws the ball past the 1st baseman toward the right field corner. The runner races all the way to 3rd but misses 2nd on the way. The ball is thrown to 2nd where the shortstop appeals to the umpire who calls the runner out. The offensive manager protests the decision, claiming that the runner is entitled to 2nd base because of the balk, and since he never touched it, he should be put back at 2nd. The manager is correct.
    False
  67. 2 outs, runners on 1st and 2nd. The batter doubles, scoring the runner from 2nd who misses 3rd. The runner from 1st is thrown out at the plate for the 3rd out. The catcher throws the ball to the 3rd baseman who appeals that the runner from 2nd missed 3rd. Inning over, no run score.
    True
  68. Runner on first with one out. B1 grounds to the shortstop who bobbles the ball and then throws to first to retire B1. The sliding batter-runner overslides 1st base and makes contact with F3 who took F6’s throw on the outfield side of 1st base. Umpire rules a force play slide rule violation. Three outs, inning over.
    False
  69. R1 and R3. A ground ball is hit to the second baseman. His throw to first is wide and sticks in the chain link fence protecting the spectator area behind first base. The catcher, who is backing up the play, grabs the momentarily lodged ball with his bare hand and prevents the batter-runner from
    advancing to second base. Legal Play.
    False
  70. The visitors score 8 runs in the top of the first inning. Shrewd manager, Bill Casey, decides to saveSmallcomb, his starter, for tomorrow’s conference game. He replaces Smallcomb with Gaitane tobegin the bottom of the first inning. This is within the rules.
    False

What would you like to do?

Home > Flashcards > Print Preview