NCAA Baseball Rules Questions

Card Set Information

Author:
Anonymous
ID:
101656
Filename:
NCAA Baseball Rules Questions
Updated:
2011-09-14 12:49:41
Tags:
NCAA Baseball Multiple Choice
Folders:

Description:
NCAA Baseball Rules Multiple Choice Questions
Show Answers:

Home > Flashcards > Print Preview

The flashcards below were created by user Anonymous on FreezingBlue Flashcards. What would you like to do?


  1. The starting pitcher is replaced in the top of the ninth inning after giving up a home run that broke a 1-1 tie. As he is leaving the field, the player blasts the home plate umpire and is ejected.

    A. One game suspension
    B. Four game suspension
    C. No suspension, just a routine ejection for the remainder of that game.

    D. Two game suspension
    B. Four game suspension
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  2. R1, R2, 1 out. B1 hits a high pop-up near the first baseline. The umpire correctly calls, "Infield fly, the batter is out, if fair." F4 calls off F3 but at the last second dives for the ball. The ball hits F4 beyond first base, in the head in fair territory, deflects to F3's foot in foul territory and then off the foot, finally touching foul ground. B1 proceeds to 2nd, R1 is thrown out at 3rd before R2 touches home.

    A. B1 is out, R1 is out, no runs score.
    B. B1 is out, R1 is out, R2 scores.
    C. Foul ball.
    D. Dead ball at the time of the drop. R1 and R2 are protected because of the infield fly rule.
    A. B1 is out, R1 is out, no runs score.
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  3. The bases are empty. B1 check swings and hits a dribbler toward first base. F2 clears the plate area first as both B1 and F2 run in the same direction towards first base. However, F1 fields the ball near the 45-foot lane, in fair territory. Seeing the pitcher will get to the ball before him, F2 stops, straddling the foul line and B1 runs into him. F1 throws to F3 for the out.

    A. Obstruction, award B1 second base.

    B. Obstruction, award B1 first base.
    C. Play stands, the catcher has the same right to attempt to field the ball as the pitcher.
    D. Play stands, the batter initiated contact on the catcher from behind.
    B. Obstruction, award B1 first base.
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  4. The coach comes to the mound and makes a pitching change. When the reliever arrives at the mound, he is given instructions by his coach, who then leaves the dirt area on his way back to the dugout. About halfway to the foul line, the coach stops and starts back towards the mound to give his pitcher further instructions.

    A. The plate umpire should not charge the coach with another trip.
    B. The plate umpire should attempt to stop the coach from going back to the mound, much in the same fashion as when a coach attempts to visit the mound a second time with the same batter at the plate.
    C. The plate umpire should not attempt to stop the coach from making a second trip.
    B. The plate umpire should attempt to stop the coach from going back to the mound, much in the same fashion as when a coach attempts to visit the mound a second time with the same batter at the plate.
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  5. R1, R2, two outs. The next batter triples. R1 however, missed 3rd base on his way home. On theappeal attempt, the defense throws the ball away but it remains in live ball territory. The batter, who isstanding on 3rd, scores easily. The defense retrieves the ball and tries the appeal again.

    A. The umpires will disallow the 2nd appeal.
    B. The 2nd throw to appeal R1's missing third base is considered a play.
    C. The appealed out stands, but one run will score.
    D. The appealed out stands, no runs score even though the batter advanced on the overthrow on the first appeal.
    A. The umpires will disallow the 2nd appeal.
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  6. R3. There is a line drive down the third base line that touches R3 while the ball is over foul territory.

    A. The batter is awarded first base and R3 is out.

    B. This is interference unless R3 is touching third when the ball hit him.
    C. This can be interference if the third baseman had a chance to catch the ball.
    D. No interference, foul ball.
    D. No interference, foul ball.
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  7. At the pre-game meeting, a team's Assistant Head Coach comes to the plate for the first game of a three game series.

    A. Allow the Asst. Head Coach to attend the conference but restrict the head coach to the dugout for the entiregame.
    B. Allow the Asst. Head Coach to represent his team at the plate conference and eject the head coach because he violated the new rule change.

    C. Require the head coaches of both teams to be present, even if it delays the start of the plate conference.
    D. Allow the Assistant Head Coach to be that team's representative.
    C. Require the head coaches of both teams to be present, even if it delays the start of the plate conference.
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  8. The bases are loaded and the batter hits a double. R2 and R1 both have missed third base on their way to the plate. At the conclusion of the playing action, the defense announces that it will appeal R1's missing third base. The pitcher contacts the rubber properly and steps off legally. However, his throw is over the third baseman's head and goes into dead ball territory. After the plate umpire has made a new ball ready for play, the defense announces that it will appeal R2's missing of third base.

    A. This is to be considered a legal appeal.
    B. The batter-runner will be awarded third base and the appeal on R2 will be allowed
    C. The batter-runner will be awarded home and the appeal on R2 will not be allowed.
    D. The umpire's should allow both appeals in the order the defense announces.
    C. The batter-runner will be awarded home and the appeal on R2 will not be allowed.
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  9. R1, R2, R3, two outs. In the bottom of the 9th inning, tie score, B1 is walked to force in the winning run. B1 touches first base, R3 touches home; however, R2 and R1 fail to touch 3rd and 2nd, respectively. As the entire jubilant offensive team celebrates in front of their dugout, the catcher throws the ball to the third baseman to appeal R2's failure to touch 3rd. The umpires will:

    A. Call R2 out, but score the run on a time play.
    B. Refuse to acknowledge the appeal, score the run, game over.
    C. Allow R2 to return to touch third base.

    D. Call R2 out and cancel the run. Extra innings.
    B. Refuse to acknowledge the appeal, score the run, game over.
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  10. After and ejection, the disqualified player or coach is allowed to return to the field:

    A. After the entire umpire crew has left playing territory.
    B. After the final out has been made.
    C. After the entire defense has left the field.
    D. After the umpiring crew has been escorted to their dressing area.
    D. After the umpiring crew has been escorted to their dressing area.
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  11. Jurisdiction on personal confrontations and conduct towards the officiating staff ends:

    A. When the officials have left the playing field.
    B. When the officials have been escorted to their dressing area
    C. When the officials have taken leave of the stadium site or the parking lot.
    C. When the officials have taken leave of the stadium site or the parking lot.
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  12. The starting pitcher is replaced in the top of the fifth inning as the pitcher and is moved to right field. From his outfield position, the removed pitcher blasts the home plate umpire and is ejected by the first base umpire.

    A. Two game suspension
    B. No suspension, just a routine ejection for the remainder of that game.

    C. One game suspension
    D. Four game suspension
    B. No suspension, just a routine ejection for the remainder of that game.
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  13. Bases loaded, one out. The batter lays down a "suicide squeeze" bunt that rolls into foul territory near the first base foul line. Due to the spinning action on the ball, the ball is rolling back towards the foul line and has a chance of becoming a fair ball. The pitcher and catcher are running towards the ball and the pitcher yells, "touch it foul" at which time the catcher scoops up the ball with the mask he is holding in his throwing hand.

    A. Score three runs and put the batter at first base.
    B. Score one run and put the batter at first base.

    C. Foul ball.
    D. Score three runs and put the batter at third base.
    D. Score three runs and put the batter at third base.
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  14. R2 and R3, one out. The batter hits a double with R2 and R3 scoring. R3, missed the plate. R2 properly touched home. Realizing that he missed the plate, R3 returns to touch it before the catcher appeals.

    A. Both runs score with or without an appeal.

    B. R2's run counts, even if the defense appeals R3's missing of home plate.
    C. R3 is allowed to return to touch home plate.
    D. The defense does not have to appeal R3's missing of home plate. The umpire will call out R3 without an appeal.
    B. R2's run counts, even if the defense appeals R3's missing of home plate.
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  15. Bases loaded, no outs, 0-0 count. The batter hits a fly ball that will come down along the third base line between third and home. The plate umpire signals "infield fly, if fair!" R3 then interferes with the third baseman while scrambling back to third base. The ball is caught over foul territory.

    A. The batter-runner is out for the infield fly since the ball could have become fair if untouched. R2 and R1 must return to their bases.
    B. R3 is out for interference. The batter-runner cannot be out for the infield fly since the ball was touched when it was foul. The batter goes back to bat with a 0-0 count.

    C. R3 is out for interference.
    D. R3 is out for interference. The batter-runner cannot be out for the infield fly rule since the ball was touched when it was foul. The batter goes back to bat with an 0-1 count.
    D. R3 is out for interference. The batter-runner cannot be out for the infield fly rule since the ball was touched when it was foul. The batter goes back to bat with an 0-1 count.
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  16. R1, R2, and R3. Two outs. B1 hits a home run. All runners cross home plate, but R1 misses second and is properly appealed for the third out.

    A. Score two runs.
    B. This is not a "time play".

    C. Score 3 runs.
    D. No runs may score
    D. No runs may score
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  17. R1, one out. The batter singles sharply to center. F5 tags R1 as he slides into third but had obstructed him by blocking third base without having possession of the ball. The umpire declares, “that‟s obstruction” . F5 then throws to F4 covering second base where BR is caught in a rundown between first and second. F3 tags the BR and fires home where F2 tags R1, who had broken for home during the rundown.

    A. R1 is awarded home and the BR is declared out.
    B. R1 is awarded home and the BR is awarded second.
    C. R1 and the BR are both declared out.
    D. R1 is awarded third and the play should have been called “dead”.
    C. R1 and the BR are both declared out.
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  18. No runners, one out. The batter hits a gapper to left center field. As the batter-runner touches 2nd he is obstructed by the 2nd baseman who is standing on the bag. After running 4 more strides in attempting to run to 3rd, the batter runner falls and tears his MCL. He is not able to advance to third or return to 2nd. The fall is unrelated to the obstruction. The left fielder finally retrieves the ball throws to F6 and the shortstop now tags the batter-runner.

    A. Award batter-runner third.
    B. Award batter-runner home as he might have made it on a close play.
    C. Call the batter-runner out.

    D. Put the batter-runner back on second.
    C. Call the batter-runner out.
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  19. Runners on 1st and 3rd. R1 is stealing when the batter hits a Texas Leaguer that falls in short right field. F4 retrieves the ball and throws the ball into the 1st base dugout in his attempt to retire the slow B1. At the time of F4's throw, R1 had reached and touched 2nd base.

    A. Score R3 and R1 and put BR at third.
    B. Score R3, put R1 at third and BR at 2nd.
    C. Score both R3 and R1 and put BR at second.
    A. Score R3 and R1 and put BR at third.
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  20. B1 asks for and receives time to talk to his third base coach. While they are conferring, the defensive coach motions the catcher over to confer. As the offensive conference breaks up, the defensive conference breaks up as well.

    A. An offensive conference is charged.
    B. A defensive and an offensive conference are charged.

    C. A defensive conference is charged.
    B. A defensive and an offensive conference are charged.
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  21. As it relates to the enforcement of the tobacco rule:

    A. The umpires‟ jurisdiction begins upon the arrival at the site of competition when they report their arrival to the home team game administrator.
    B. The umpires‟ jurisdiction begins upon their arrival at the site of competition.
    C. The umpires jurisdiction begins when they arrive on the field in uniform.
    C. The umpires jurisdiction begins when they arrive on the field in uniform.
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  22. How many offensive meetings will a team be allowed during a regulation game and/or extra innings?

    A. Three per regulation game and one during extra innings.
    B. One per inning in a regulation game and one per inning for extra innings.
    C. Three per regulation game and one for every three extra innings played.
    D. One every three innings in a regulation game and one during extra innings.
    E. None of the above.
    A. Three per regulation game and one during extra innings.
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  23. R2, no outs. On a 3-2 pitch to the batter, the pitch is called ball four and it gets by the catcher and is rolling towards the 1st base dugout. As the catcher attempts to retrieve the ball, he inadvertently deflects the ball into the dugout.

    A. The ball is dead and each player is awarded one base.
    B. R2 is awarded home and the batter is awarded second.
    C. R2 is awarded home and the batter remains at first base.
    D. R2 is awarded third and the batter is awarded second.
    A. The ball is dead and each player is awarded one base.
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  24. Which is not true regarding the DH Rule?

    A. The DH can bat for any replaced pitcher.
    B. The DH can bat only for the starting pitcher and himself.
    C. The DH can also be the starting pitcher and stay in the game and bat after being replaced as the pitcher.
    D. The DH can bat in any spot in the lineup.
    E. A pinch hitter that bats for the DH can enter the game to pitch and subsequently be relieved as the pitcher and continue to bat for the new pitcher.
    B. The DH can bat only for the starting pitcher and himself.
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  25. R1 and R3. As the pitcher begins his preliminary stretch in the set position, R1 breaks for second base in an attempt to cause a balk or draw a throw from the pitcher. The pitcher ignores R1 and continues with his stretch and comes to a complete stop. Prior to the pitcher beginning his motion to deliver the pitch, R1 has touched second base. The batter fouls off the pitch.

    A. R3 is awarded home, R1 stays at second.
    B. R3 is awarded home, R1 stays at second.
    C. R3 stays at third, R1 stays at second.
    D. R3 stays at third, R1 must return to first and retouch prior to the next pitch.

    E. R3 stays at third, R1 is returned to first.
    C. R3 stays at third, R1 stays at second.
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  26. R1, R2, R3, one out. The pitching coach comes to the mound to talk with his pitcher. After the pitching coach returns to the dugout the offensive coach sends in a pinch hitter. The defensive team's head coach yells from the dugout to have his pitcher and first baseman switch positions.

    A. This switch is illegal and should be denied by the umpire.
    B. The switch is only legal if the defensive team has uncharged conferences remaining.
    C. This is legal, but the new pitcher is not allowed any warm-up throws.
    D. This switch constitutes a charged trip to the defensive team.

    E. The switch is legal.
    E. The switch is legal.
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  27. In the seventh inning, the defensive coach brings in a relief pitcher to replace F1. At the same time, the present DH, who is batting third, moves to first base and replaces the first baseman, who is batting fourth in the lineup. The old pitcher replaces the right fielder who batted eighth in the order.

    A. The new pitcher will bat third.
    B. The DH now bats in the fourth spot in the lineup.
    C. The DH may be moved in the batting order with this double-switch.
    D. The coach must designate the position of the old pitcher and new pitcher in the order before he crosses the foul line to make the pitching change.
    D. The coach must designate the position of the old pitcher and new pitcher in the order before he crosses the foul line to make the pitching change.
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  28. In the third inning, the coach goes to the mound and brings in the first baseman, Jones, to pitch. The original pitcher leaves the game and a new first baseman, Green, comes into the game. After one batter, the coach swaps F3 (Green) with F1 (Jones). Green retires the next two batters. The coach then comes back out and returns the two players to their original positions. Jones, now pitching, walks the next batter. The coach makes another trip and repeats the switch so that Jones is at first again and Green is pitching.

    A. In the fourth inning it would be legal for Jones to return to the mound.
    B. Jones and Green are only allowed warm-up pitches the first time they come to the mound.
    C. When the coach comes out for the final time to switch the players, the coach should be ejected.

    D. There is no limitation on the number of times Jones and Green can switch positions.
    E. This is legal since both Jones and Green left the mound once and returned once.
    E. This is legal since both Jones and Green left the mound once and returned once.
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  29. R2, no outs. The batter bunts the ball down the third base line. F1 and F5 hover over the ball (hoping it will go foul). The ball stays fair, hits third base and then hits R2 who has advanced to and is standing on third base.

    A. The runner is out because the ball has not passed a fielder.
    B. The runner is not out because F1 and F5 chose not to make a play on the ball.

    C. The runner is not out because he is in contact with the base.
    D. Two base award.
    B. The runner is not out because F1 and F5 chose not to make a play on the ball.
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  30. The halted game rule was in effect prior to the start of the game. During the sixth inning of a close game, substitute S1 was written into the UIC's lineup card, was announced, and proceeded to the mound to take his warm-up throws. The rain comes hard and the game is stopped prior to S1 facing a batter.

    A. S1 may be moved to another defensive position prior to his completing pitching to one batter when play is resumed.
    B. S1 must complete his pitching to the initial batter he was due to face when play was halted.
    C. If S1 is replaced by S2 prior to pitching to 1 hitter, S1 does not lose his eligibility to return to the contest in any capacity.

    D. Even if he is not injured, S1 may be replaced by S2.
    D. Even if he is not injured, S1 may be replaced by S2.
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  31. R1 and R3, one out. R1 breaks early toward second base. The pitcher turns inside and throws to second in one motion. R1 is out on the throw as R1 slows down when he hears U3's call of "balk." U1 comes to U3 and asks, "What was the balk?" U1 is informed by the calling umpire that the balk is for throwing to an unoccupied base. U1 alerts the calling umpire that R1 had broken for second before the pitcher had started his inside move and prior to the pitcher's throw to second base.

    A. Change the call and give no explanation.
    B. Tell your partner to mind his own business.
    C. Change the call and return R1 to first base and R3 back to third and explain to the coach how the crew has misinterpreted the situation.

    D. This error in interpretation cannot be changed, the call will stand.
    A. Change the call and give no explanation.
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  32. R1. The batter bunts the ball in fair territory. As he takes off for first base he tosses his bat and it contacts the ball in fair territory hindering F2‟s try to make a play.

    A. The ball is a delayed dead ball.
    B. The play continues as the batter did not intentionally interfere.
    C. Immediate dead ball, the batter is out, all base runners return to their base at the TOP.
    D. The play should continue in case the defense might get a double play.
    C. Immediate dead ball, the batter is out, all base runners return to their base at the TOP.
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  33. R2, one out. The batter has just faked a bunt and the count is now 1-1. The catcher is attempting to return the pitch to the pitcher when the return toss hits the batter's bat and goes into centerfield. B1 is in his box. R2 touches third base and advances to the plate where he is thrown out by a wide margin.

    A. This is interference without a play and should be penalized.

    B. Call interference on the batter and call him out. Umpires cannot rule on intent. Return R2 to 2nd base.
    C. This is not interference. The ball remains in play and the result of the play stands.
    D. This is not interference. The ball becomes dead when it goes into center field. Award R2 home.
    C. This is not interference. The ball remains in play and the result of the play stands.
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  34. What should you do when you see a pitcher begin his windup with his non-pivot foot entirely in front of the pivot foot and his shoulders square to the third base foul line instead of to the batter?

    A. Call time and call it an illegal pitch.
    B. Call time and warn the pitcher that he needs to have his shoulders square to the batter and his non-pivot foot even with or behind his pivot foot.
    C. Nothing, wait for the opposing team to complain.
    D. Nothing, but let his coach know at the end of the inning that he cannot do it.
    B. Call time and warn the pitcher that he needs to have his shoulders square to the batter and his non-pivot foot even with or behind his pivot foot.
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  35. Which of the following situations or plays cannot lead to an umpire conference for the purpose of "getting the call right‟.

    A. Spectator interference plays.
    B. Cases in which a foul tip is dropped or trapped by the catcher.
    C. A possible pulled foot by a fielder.
    D. Decisions regarding whether a hit ball is a home run or ground rule double.
    E. Plays where the calling umpire erred because he did not see a ball dropped or juggled.
    F. Plays where a foul fly ball is caught or not caught.
    G. None of the above
    G. None of the above
  36. R2 and R3 – 1 out. The batter has a count of 2 balls and 1 strike. Before the next pitch, the umpire inadvertently announces the count as “1 and 2”, but no one mentions the error. On the next pitch the batter swings and misses and the catcher drops the ball. The batter takes off for first and the catcher‟s throw sails into right field and both R2 and R3 score. Upon realizing his error, the umpire should:

    A. Keep the batter at first and score both runs
    B. Since it was the umpires fault he should place the runners back at second and third, and bring the batter back to the plate with a 2 and 1 count.

    C. Score R3, place R2 at second base and the batter at first base.
    D. Score both runs and bring the batter back to the plate with a 2 balls, 2 strikes count.
    D. Score both runs and bring the batter back to the plate with a 2 balls, 2 strikes count.
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  37. Which of the following is not true regarding suspensions for abuse of game officials or umpires?

    A. For verbal abuse (first offense) – ejection and a three game suspension.
    B. For fighting (third offense) – ejection and suspension for remainder of season.

    C. For intentionally spitting or spewing (first offense) – ejection and a three game suspension.
    D. For bumping (second offense)– ejection and a five game suspension.
    A. For verbal abuse (first offense) – ejection and a three game suspension.
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  38. Team A has a DH batting in the 6th spot of their lineup. While on defense in the 7th inning, the manager of team A brings in a new pitcher, moves the replaced pitcher to right field and takes the original right fielder out of the game.

    A. The new pitcher does not need to bat – the DH is still in effect.
    B. The pitcher moved to right field bats in the spot of the DH.
    C. The pitcher moved to right field bats in the replaced right-fielder‟s spot and the new pitcher hits in the DH spot.

    D. The replaced right fielder may stay in and become the DH.
    B. The pitcher moved to right field bats in the spot of the DH.
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  39. R1, R2, and R3. Two outs. B1 hits a home run. All runners cross home plate, but R2 misses 3rd and is properly appealed for the third out.

    A. Score 3 runs.
    B. This is a “time play”.

    C. Score two runs.
    D. No runs may score
    D. No runs may score
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)

What would you like to do?

Home > Flashcards > Print Preview