The Twelve Olympian Gods

The flashcards below were created by user tdfa11 on FreezingBlue Flashcards.

  1. Zeus
    • (Jupiter)
    • supreme lord of gods, god of the sky, symbolized by thunderbolt
  2. Hera
    • (Juno)
    • wife of Zeus, protector of marrige and childbirth, familiar with magic
    • known for jealously
  3. Poseidon
    • (Neptune)
    • god of the sea, horses, and earthquakes
  4. Demeter
    • (Ceres)
    • goddess of agriculture and mother of Persephone(Proserpina), her offspring is not considered olympian god
  5. Apollo
    • (Apollo)
    • beautiful god of the sun, light, medicine, archery, and music
  6. Artemis
    • (Diana)
    • independent goddess of the hunt, forest, wildlife, childbirth, and the moon
    • Sister of Apollo
  7. Athena
    • (Minerva)
    • Zeus' favortie daughter and goddess of wisdom, war, and crafts
  8. Hermes
    • (Mercury)
    • the speedy messenger of the gods and god of business
  9. Hephaestus
    • (Vulcan)
    • lame god of fire and the forge
    • married to Aphrodite
  10. Ares
    • (Mars)
    • dark god of war who is in love with Aphrodite
  11. Aphrodite
    • (Venus)
    • goddess of love, romance, and beauty
    • Her son is Eros(Cupid) go of love
  12. Dionysus
    • (Bacchus)
    • god of wine, celebration, and drama
  13. Hades
    • (Pluto)
    • brother of Zeus and Poseidon
    • Dwells in underworld
Card Set:
The Twelve Olympian Gods
2012-02-08 01:35:48
gods greece

Show Answers: