The flashcards below were created by user DesLee26 on FreezingBlue Flashcards.

  1. What is a vocation?
    God's call to live a life of love--> to bring love to the world in which you find yourself in a way that only you can
  2. Why is each person's vocation unique?
    because of each person's different situations, talents and strengths
  3. What is discernment?
    • making decisions with God
    • --> a process through which we are called to make important choices with the guidance and inspirations of God
  4. What does discernment involve?
    honesty, trust, courage and faith
  5. What does discernment require?
    a belief that, even in the most obviosuly "non-religious" matters, God is calling us to a certain way of living and loving in the world
  6. How Does Discernment work?
    • Because it involves God, need to pray. We need to ask God to be with us in this process, and to calm our minds and hearts to the point where we can begin to discern.
    • We simplify the choice to two options
    • - once simplified, make a pro and con list. Do one list at a time. Try not to censorr yourself--> write whatever comes to mind.
    • - When lists complete, evaluate points. Don't be distracted by number of points. Pay atention to feelings during evaluation. Usually, your answer will be clear if oyu are open to it.
    • - If still unsure, visualize and pay attention to feelings. Feelings of real peace will accompany a choice that comes from God.
    • Make a choice
    • Thank God for helping you.
    • Put decision to action.
  7. What do you need to keep in mind?
    • - Journaling is often helpful
    • - The discernment process can be done in a short pd. of time, but it is not good to rush important choices.
    • - God has a way of providing helpful info to us, if we look for it with an open heart.
    • - God being in this proess with us doesn't guarantee that the decision will be easy to live out.
  8. What does the Bible tell us about love? (What is it?)
    • It is:
    • -patient,
    • -kind,
    • -honest (rejoices with truth)
    • - bears all things
    • - believes all things
    • - hopeful
    • - strong (endures all things)
    • - determined
    • - eternal
  9. What does the Bible tell us about love? (What is it not?)
    • It is not:
    • - jealous
    • - pompous and conceited
    • - inflated
    • - rude
    • - selfish (doesn't seek self interest)
    • - quick-tempered
    • - doesn't brood over injury or hold grudges
    • - doesn't rejoice over wrongdoings or focus on negative
    • - never fails
    • - is not rude
    • - exaggered
    • - overdone
    • - resentful
  10. In English, there is only __ word for love, though it can be understood in many different ways.
    In __, there are __ words: __(4)__
    • one
    • Greek
    • four
    • Storge
    • Philia
    • Eros
    • Agape
  11. As Christians, what are we commanded to do?
    to love others by Jesus
  12. Who came up with the four types of love?
    CS Lewis in his book, The Four Loves
  13. What is storge?
    • love between family members
    • commited and sacrificial love
    • doesn't expect too much; revives easily after quarrels; overlooks faults; and frequently forgives
    • comfortable and secure in another's presence
    • unconditional
    • sometimes taken for granted
  14. What is Philia?
    • not condititional (you have to work to keep it)
    • love between good friends
    • chosen love
    • basis of shared interests (look at life a specific way)
  15. What is Eros?
    • romantic, passionate feelign
    • usually do not choose this type of live because it is a passionate feeling and we can't decide what we feel; it just happens
    • we still can and should control what we do in response to our lovenormal for it to diminish over time into a more secure, committed, and comfortable love of storge that replaces it
  16. What is Agape?
    • Christian love
    • unconditional (doesn't expect anything in return)
    • chosen and committed love
    • God's divine love made visible through us in our good works of charity and service
    • Holy Spirit is the source
    • type of love Christians are called to manifest in their lives by unconditional acts of goodwill and charity for others, especially the poor and disadvantaged
    • motivates us to do good
    • service to other people to bring God into the world
    • not love of God for me, love of God that works through us
  17. What is Lent?
    the Liturgical season during which we remember Jesus' suffering and death, and prepare to celebrate His resurrection on Easter. It is a time of prayer, reflection and sacrifice.
  18. Why do we receive ashes on Ash Wednesday?
    They are a reminder of our humanity adn the fact that we will die--that our time on earth is limited. The ashes also remind us of our sins and of our call to express our sorrow and reconcile with God
  19. Why 40 days?
    Lent begins on Ash Wednesday, which is actually 46 days before Easter. The 6 sudays in Lent are not technically part of Lent. So we are left with forty days. The number "40" is common in Scripture, often referring to a time of penance, difficulty, and/ or prayer. Most significantly, we are reminded of the forty days that Jesus spent in the desert, praying and overcoming temptation
  20. What are "Days of Fast and Abstinence?"
    • On days of Fast (Ash Wednesday and Good Friday), Catholics eat only one full meatless meal and two smaller meatless meals, with nothing in between.
    • On days of Abstinence, (All Fridays in Lent), Catholics do not eat meat.
  21. Why do we fast and not eat meat?
    The days of Fast and Abstinence are to help us grow in self-discipline, as well as to remind us of our Lenten Obligations to pray and sacrifice.
  22. What are days of fast?
    ash wednesday and Good Friday
  23. What are days of abstinence?
    all fridays in lent
  24. What makes discernment different from other decision-making processes?
    God is involved
  25. What is the purpose of the Lenten sacrifice?
    • one of the most well-known traditions of Lent is giving something up.
    • we do this so that we can feel that we are a part of the sacrificial nature of the season of Lent
    • also, through our sacrifice, we show (to God and ourselves) that we have control over our wants and desires--that we are stronger than the forces that affect us and try to control us.
    • In addition to our sacrifices, we are encouraged to "take on" other good practices.
  26. What are the Stations of the Cross?
    • 1. Jesus is condemned to death
    • 2. Jesus accepts his cross.
    • 3. Jesus falls the first time.
    • 4. Jesus meets his mother.
    • 5. Simon helps Jesus bear his cross.
    • 6. Veronica cleans Jesus' face
    • 7. Jesus falls a second time.
    • 8. Jesus meets/ consoles the weeping women of Jerusalen.
    • 9. Jesus falls a third and final time.
    • 10. Jesus is stripped.
    • 11. Jesus is nailed to the cross.
    • 12. Jesus dies on the cross.
    • 13. Jesus is taken down from the cross.
    • 14. Jesus is laid in the tomb.
    • ***15. Jesus rises from the dead.
Card Set:
2012-03-04 02:13:35

Show Answers: