Buddhist Tradition Unit 1

The flashcards below were created by user mhirshfield on FreezingBlue Flashcards.

  1. Buddhist
    a person who takes refuge in the three jewels
  2. Three Jewels
    the Buddha, the Dharma, and the Sangha
  3. Buddha
    a perfect teacher, refering to Siddhartha Gautama, or to other perfectly enlightened persons, or "awakened one.'
  4. Siddhartha Gautama
    Also spelled Siddhattha Gotama, 566-486 BC (410 BC = more likely DOD), prince of the Sakyas, became enlightened and began Buddhism.
  5. Shakyamuni
    Also spelled Sakyamuni, the Buddha is sometimes referred to as this title, translates to "the sage of the Sakyas."
  6. Dharma
    reality, the truth that the Buddha teaches.
  7. Sangha
    The spiritual community that has realized the Dharma, or all monks and nuns, all Buddhists, and beings.
  8. Taking Refuge
    Those who wish to formally become Buddhists do so by “taking refuge” in the three jewels - by publicly reciting: “I go to the Buddha, the Dharma, and the Sangha for refuge.”
  9. Theravada
    AKA "Small Vehicle," Predominant today in Myanmar (Burma), Sri Lanka (Ceylon), Cambodia, Laos and Thailand
  10. Mahayana
    AKA "Great Vehicle," Predominant today in Nepal, Tibet, Bhutan, China, Korea, Japan, Mongolia, Vietnam.
  11. Vajrayana
    another name for tantric Buddhism, which we will consider (later) as a subtype of Mahayana. Vajrayana Buddhism has at least a small presence in most Mahayana countries, and is the main type of Mahayana practiced in Tibet, Nepal, and Bhutan.
  12. Hinayana
    Those who follow the Mahayana often refer to Theravada and other (earlier) non-Mahayana groups as “Hinayana” (Small Vehicle).  It is a derogatory term and no one refers to herself or himself as a follower of Hinayana. 
  13. Tripitaka [Three Baskets]
    • 1. The Discourses (Sutta Pitaka) or sermons of the Buddha
    • 2. The Monastic Rule (Vinaya Pitaka)
    • 3. The Scholastic Treatises (Abhidhamma Pitaka)
  14. Sutra
    a scripture which presents (or claims to present) a teaching given by Buddha
  15. Vinaya
    contains the rules of monastic discipline
  16. Arhat
    monks or bhikkhu that have attained full enlightenment through learning about enlightenment through someone (the Buddha).
  17. Stupa
    A bell-shaped monument which could be used as a site for offerings and devotion.
  18. Dukkha
    suffering is an intristic part of life. Life can be unfulfilling
  19. Karma
    volitional action or deed
  20. Samsara
    The process of repeated rebirth, or "endless wandering"
  21. The five aggregates
    • 1. Matter
    • 2. Sensations
    • 3. Perceptions
    • 4. Mental Formations
    • 5. Consciousness
  22. Craving
    gives rise to all forms of suffering and the continuity of beings.
  23. The Three Marks
    The three roots of evil: greed, hatred, and delusion.
  24. Six realms of Rebirth
    • 1. Hell (like Christian Purgatory)
    • 2. Animals
    • 3. Ghosts
    • 4. Titans
    • 5. Humans
    • 6. Gods
  25. Three Spheres
    • 1. Sense-desires (kamavacara), lowest
    • 2. Pure form (rupavacara)
    • 3. Formlessness (arupavacara), highest
  26. Merit
    or puñña, good karma, can be shared with others through "merit transference"
  27. The Four Noble Truths
    • 1. The Truth of Suffering (Dukkha)
    • 2. The Truth of Arising (Samudaya)
    • 3. The Truth of Cessation (Nirodha)
    • 4. The Truth of the Path (Magga)
  28. Volition
    the act of willing, choosing, or resolving
  29. Ascetic
    a person who dedicates his or her life to a pursuit of contemplative ideals and practices extreme self-denial or self-mortification for religious reasons.
  30. Mendicant
    a beggar
  31. Ashoka
    became emperor of India around 268 BC, extended Mauryan empire, turned to Buddhism after a campaign due to remorse. Helped to establish Buddhism within India and dispatched ambassadors to the courts of rulers in Near East and Macedonia and to South-East Asia.
Card Set:
Buddhist Tradition Unit 1
2012-06-25 21:50:05
Buddhist Tradition Unit

Buddhist Tradition Unit 1
Show Answers: