Texas Driving Test
Home > Flashcards > Print Preview
The flashcards below were created by user
on FreezingBlue Flashcards
. What would you like to do?
What is the minimum age at which you can get a Class C driver license without either driver education or being a hardship case? (Chpt. 1)
18 years old.
How much is the maximum fine for a first conviction of driving without a license? (Chpt. 1)
up to $200
What type of restrictions may be placed on your license? (Chpt. 1)
Restrictions relating to time/speed/location at which the driver may operate the vehicle and referring to passengers in the car.
In what direction should you turn your wheels when parking uphill without a curb? (Chpt. 7)
Right (front of wheels towards side of the road).
What action should you take if you fail to receive the renewal notice card reminding you that your driver license is about to expire? (Chpt. 1)
Renew it anyway, but still my responsibility to take initiative
On a one-way street, what color is the broken lane marker? (Chpt. 5)
Describe the “Yield” sign. (Chpt. 5)
Upside-down red triangle with white triangle inside that reads "YIELD"
What does a “Narrow Bridge” sign look like, and how should the driver react when he sees one? (Chpt. 5)
- Yellow rhombus with broken lane marker and two lines curving into it. The bridge ahead is not as wide as the road. Slow down and use caution.
What is the shape of a “Keep Right” sign, and how should the driver react when he sees one? (Chpt. 5)
White rectangle with "U" block and arrow to the right. One should keep to the right of the sign.
Which sign tells you to slow down because you are approaching a double curve? (Chpt. 5)
Yellow rhombus with curving line and arrow.
What does a “Do Not Pass” sign mean? (Chpt. 5)
It means "do not pass."
Which sign tells you to keep in the right-hand lane when driving slow? (Chpt. 5)
The sign is a white rectangle that reads "SLOWER TRAFFIC KEEP RIGHT." One should keep right when seeing it. Stay in the right-hand lane if you are driving slower than other vehicles on the roadway.
What does “Yield Right-of-Way” mean? (Chpt. 4, 5)
The phrase means that you must allow the following vehicles to proceed before you do: those on your right at an intersection, approaching, on through street, exiting and entering highway, school buses, emergency vehicles, pedestrians, and bicycles.
Describe the equipment required on passenger cars by state law. (Chpt. 2)
brakes, lights, horn, muffler, safety glass, license plates, windshield wiper, rearview mirror, front seat-belts, tires, and fuel cap
What is the purpose of an exhaust emission system? (Chpt. 2)
A muffler and exhaust system – all 1968 or later models must be equipped with an exhaust emission system to help reduce air pollution.
Describe the types of equipment which Texas state law specifically forbids on passenger cars driven within the state. (Chpt. 2)
red light showing from the front; bell, siren, or exhaust whistle; muffler cutout; anything three inches from left, six from other places
How should you react when a traffic officer tells you to do something which is ordinarily considered to be against the law? (Chpt. 5)
obey him anyhow
Once the brakes have been applied, about how many feet does a car which was going 70 mph travel before it comes to a stop? (Chpt. 8)
When is it necessary to stop before proceeding when you overtake a school bus loading or unloading children? (Chpt. 4)
About how many feet will the average driver going 50 mph travel from the moment he sees danger until he hits the brakes? (Chpt. 8)
Within how many feet of a crosswalk may you park, when parking near a corner? (Chpt. 7)
What is the state speed limit for automobiles in urban districts? (Chpt.8)
Does a posted speed limit of 55 mph mean that you may drive 55 mph on that highway under all conditions? (Chpt. 8)
No. During periods of heavy traffic, inclement weather, low visibility, or other poor driving conditions, speed must be adjusted so that accidents will be avoided.
You should never drive on the left half of the roadway when you are within how many feet from an intersection, bridge, or railroad crossing? (Chpt. 6)
Within 100 feet of or crossing an intersection or railroad crossing, a bridge, viaduct, or tunnel.
What should you do if you discover you are in the wrong lane to make a turn as you enter an intersection? (Chpt. 6)
Continue straight ahead
When two cars meet at the intersection of a two-lane road with a fourlane road, which one must yield the right of-way? (Chpt. 4)
the vehicle on the two-lane street must yield
If you are driving and hear a siren coming, what should you do? (Chpt.4)
pull to the right edge of the road and stop
What is the first thing that should be done when a car starts to skid?(Chpt. 9)
turn your steering wheel in the direction of the skid
At what time of the day should your headlights be turned on? (Chpt. 9)
- You must use your headlights between one-half hour after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise, or any other time when persons or vehicles cannot be seen clearly for at least
- 1,000 feet.
Under what conditions may your driver’s license be suspended? (Chpt. 1)
DWI, drug offense, intoxication manslaughter, intoxication assault, failure to stop and render aid, causing death or serious injury while in vehicle, any felony during operation, passing a school bus, evading arrest, unlawful use of driver license
What is carbon monoxide, and how may it be harmful to drivers? (Chpt. 14)
Carbon monoxide is a deadly gas produced by cars.
Describe what you should do if you have a blowout while driving.(Chpt. 9)
take your foot off the gas and gently apply the breaks
What should you do when driving down a steep grade in a car with standard transmission? (Chpt. 9)
use a low gear
What should you do if you damage an unattended vehicle? (Chpt. 11)
Locate the vehicle owner and give them your name and address or leave your name and address in the windshield
When are accident reports required? (Chpt. 11)
If you are required to show proof of financial responsibility for the future, how many years must such proof be kept up? (Chpt. 3)
What type of sign warns you to watch right and left for cross traffic?(Chpt. 5)
yellow rhombus with black cross
Describe the emblem which identifies vehicles which travel at speeds of 25 mph or less. (Chpt. 15)
neon orange triangle with red lining
In which gear should you drive when going down a steep hill? (Chpt. 9)
a low gear
What qualifications must one have to teach a beginner to drive?(Chpt. 1)
Driver’s license holder with at least 1 year of driving experience
If the person is under 18, when does his provisional license expire?(Chpt. 1)
his next birth date
When parked parallel, your curb side wheels must
be no more than how many inches from the curb? (Chpt. 7)
When following another car, what is a good rule to determine the distance at which you should follow behind? (Chpt. 9)
two seconds behind
To what agency and within what time period must a change of address be reported for driver licensing purposes? (Chpt. 1)
reported to the Drivers License office within thirty days of change
What effects does the use of marijuana and amphetamine have on driving? (Chpt. 10)
affected concentration, judgment, and sensory and perceptual skills, loss in coordination, "edginess"
What is the penalty for being convicted of driving while intoxicated? (Chpt. 10)
What does a green arrow showing with a red light mean? (Chpt. 5)
Proceed carefully in the direction of the arrow after yielding the right-of-way to other vehicles
How should you react to a flashing red light? (Chpt. 5)
Stop completely before entering the crosswalk or intersection, then proceed when you can do so safely. Vehicles on the intersecting roadway may not have to stop
Which sign tells you to watch out for a train? (Chpt. 5)
Describe the sign which warns you to slow down for a winding road.(Chpt. 5)
What sign indicates that the road that you are on merges with another? (Chpt. 5)
What kind of sign warns you that the highest safe speed for the turn ahead is 25 mph? (Chpt. 5)
Describe the sign that tells you to watch for cross traffic ahead. (Chpt.5)
What type of sign warns you that you should slow down for a sharp rise in the roadway? (Chpt. 5)
Describe the type of sign which would let you know that you were on a in a city or urban area. (Chpt. 5)
What is the maximum number of inches that you may lawfully allow an object to extend beyond the left fender of your car? (Chpt. 2)
Under what conditions must you always stop? (Chpt. 4, 5)
Stop sign, Steady red light for Signal light, etc.
What should you do when coming onto a street from a private alley or driveway? (Chpt. 4)
When entering or crossing a road, street, or highway from a private road, alley, building, or driveway after stopping prior to the sidewalk, you shall yield the right-of-way to all approaching vehicles and pedestrians.
If a child runs into the road 45 to 50 feet ahead of your car, what is the highest speed from which you can stop with good brakes without hitting him? (Chpt. 8)
How close to a fireplug may a vehicle lawfully park? (Chpt. 7)
Should not park within 15 feet of a fire hydrant
What does a posted speed limit of 55 mph mean? (Chpt. 5)
55 mph in best visibility and road condition
What is the maximum speed limit for passenger cars on Texas Highway numbered by this state or United States outside an urban district? (Chpt. 8)
70 mph daytime, 65 mph nighttime
Under what circumstances should you never attempt to pass a car ahead of you? (Chpt. 6)
Such circumstances including in a “no passing zone”, and attempt of passing by driving off the paved portion of the highway.
Under what conditions are overtaking and passing to the right not permitted?(Chpt. 6)
In Texas and many other states, you may pass on the right only when conditions permit you to do so safely, such as:
1. The road is clear of parked vehicles or other things and is wide enough for two or more lanes in each direction.
2. You are on a one-way road.
3. You may pass on a paved shoulder when the vehicle you are passing is slowing or stopped on the main travelled portion of the highway, disabled, or preparing to make a left turn.
Do not pass on the right by driving off the paved portion of the highway
When a driver is waiting to make a left turn, what is the procedure he should take when the light turns green? (Chpt. 5, 6)
Turn on the left turn signal light before entering the intersection, waiting for the coming traffic, than make a left turn, if safe.
What precautions should a driver take at uncontrolled intersections?(Chpt. 4)
Yield right of way to traffics in or from right side, and pedestrians.
What regulations should a bicycle rider observe? (Chpt. 13)
Bicycle riders need to observe and obey all the traffic signs, and signals.
Under what conditions should headlights be used? (Chpt. 9)
You must use your headlights between one-half hour after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise, or any other time when persons or vehicles cannot be seen clearly for at least 1,000 feet.
You should dim your lights when you are within how many feet of an approaching car? (Chpt. 9)
Other occasions: when following closely behind another vehicle (within 300 feet). When driving on lighted roads. When driving in fog, heavy rain, sleet, snow, or dust.
What type of lighting should cars use when parked on the highway at night? (Chpt. 9)
parking lights or lower beam headlights on.
What type of lighting should cars use when parked on the highway at night? (Chpt. 9)
When are you required to show proof of financial responsibility? (Chpt. 3)
Evidence of financial responsibility must be presented to the proper authorities at the time a person applies for a driver license, registers a motor vehicle, or obtains a motor vehicle inspection certificate.
When needed, how may one show proof of financial responsibility? (Chpt. 3)
A liability insurance policy in at least the minimum amounts listed above, or a standard proof of liability insurance form promulgated by the Texas department of insurance and issued by a liability insurer.
What sign warns you that you must slow down? (Chpt. 5)
Could be anything
What circumstances may lead to possible loss of your license? (Chpt.1
- driving while intoxicated (DWI) by use of alcohol or drugs,
- drug offense,
- intoxication manslaughter,
- intoxication assault,
- failure to stop and render aid,
- causing the death or serious injury of anyone while operating a motor vehicle,
- any offense punishable as a felony under the motor vehicle laws of Texas,
- overtaking and passing a school bus (subsequent conviction),
- boating while intoxicated,
- evading arrest,
- driving while license invalid,
- altered/unlawful use of driver license,
- displaying or possessing a driver license or identification card that is fictitious or altered
In addition to mufflers, what new equipment is required on all cars manufactured in 1968 and after? (Chpt. 2)
exhaust emissions system
Why are seat belts important? (Chpt. 14)
From being thrown from your car; from hitting the dashboard too hard; in better control of your car.
What is meant by “defensive driving?” (Chpt. 14)
- Stay alert and keep his eyes moving so that he can keep track of what is happening at all time;
- Look for trouble spots developing all around him;
- Have a plan of action if the other driver does the wrong thing;
- Know that the law requires drivers to protect each other from their own mistakes
What are the different classes of licenses and age requirements for each? (Chpt. 1)
- Class A: 18 or 17 with driving education course
- Class B: 18 or 17 with driving education course
- Class C: 18 or 16 with driving education course, or 15 with approval of minor’s hardship application
- Class M: motocycle 18 or 16 with education course; moped 15
When is a bicyclist not required to ride to the right of the roadway? (Chpt. 13)
a. The person is overtaking and passing another vehicle proceeding in the same direction.
b. The person is preparing for a left turn at an intersection or onto a private road or driveway.
c. There are unsafe conditions in the roadway such as fixed or moving objects, parked or moving vehicles, pedestrians, animals, potholes, or debris.
d. The lane is too narrow for a bicycle and a motor vehicle to safely travel side by side.
When are bicyclists allowed to ride two abreast in a traffic lane? (Chpt. 13)
Persons riding two abreast shall not impede the normal and reasonable flow of traffic on the roadway. Persons riding two abreast on a laned roadway must ride in a single lane.
What are the three most common motorist caused car-bicycle crashes? (Chpt. 13)
(1) Motorist turning left in the face of oncoming bicycle traffic. Oncoming bicycle traffic is often overlooked or its speed misjudged.
(2) Motorist turning right across the path of the bicycle traffic. The motorist should slow down and merge with the bicycle traffic for a safe right-hand turn.
(3) Motorist pulling away from a stop sign, failing to yield right-of-way to bicycle cross traffic. At intersections, right-of-way rules apply equally to motor vehicles and bicycles.
What are the penalties for minors (persons under the age of 21) convicted of Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol? (Chpt. 10)
First offense, up to $500, 20 hours ~ 40 hours community service, alcohol awareness course in required.
Second offense, up to $500, 40 hours ~ 60 hours community service, alcohol awareness course maybe required.
Third offense, $ 500~$2,000, 40 hours ~ 60 hours community service, confinement in jail not to exceed 180 days
What are the penalties for minors (persons under the age of 21) convicted of nondriving alcohol-related offenses? (Chpt. 10)
Convictions or failure to comply with the following offenses will result in the automatic suspension of a driving privilege of persons under 21 years of age: (Also see Administrative License Revocation (ALR) for additional suspension information regarding minors.)
Alcoholic Beverage Code offenses:
- - minor in possession,
- - attempt to purchase alcohol by a minor,
- - purchase of alcohol by a minor,
- - consumption of alcohol by a minor,
- - misrepresentation of age by a minor,
- - driving under the influence of alcohol by a minor,
- - failure to complete an alcohol awareness class,
What would you like to do?
Home > Flashcards > Print Preview