Georgia Chapter 2 Types Of License.txt

Card Set Information

Author:
star.strukk
ID:
225551
Filename:
Georgia Chapter 2 Types Of License.txt
Updated:
2013-07-01 15:28:03
Tags:
Georgia Chapter Types License
Folders:

Description:
Georgia Chapter 2 Types Of License
Show Answers:

Home > Flashcards > Print Preview

The flashcards below were created by user star.strukk on FreezingBlue Flashcards. What would you like to do?


  1. General requirements for Sales and Community Association Managers
    • At least 18 years old
    • Georgia resident, unless applying for a nonresident license
    • High school graduate, or hold a certificate of equivalency
    • Be of good and honest character, and not have been convicted of any felony or crime involving moral turpitude, and not have violated and fair housing laws.
  2. Application process for Sales and Community Association Managers
    • Complete required pre-license education
    • Pass a state licensing exam
    • Make proper application for a license (active or inactive) within 3 months from date of the exam, or after 3 months, must pay a fee double the original application fee. After 12 months the prospective applicant must retake the licensing exam.
    • The broker who is to be responsible for the licensee must sign the license application form.
  3. What happens if an applicant does not file proper application within 3 months from the date of the exam?
    After 3 months, the applicant must pay a fee double the original application fee.
  4. How many hours of pre-license education and do salespersons require?
    75 hour approved course
  5. How many hours of pre-license education and do CAMs require?
    25 hour approved course
  6. How many hours of post-license education does a new salesperson require?
    Must complete 25 hours of post-licensing education with an approved exam
  7. How long does a salesperson have to complete a post-license course?
    The course must be completed no earlier than 1 year before the license issue date and no later than 1 year after the license issue date.

    1yr <= issue date <= 1 year
  8. What happens if a salesperson fails to complete the post-license education in that first year?
    His license will lapse and he cannot perform any acts of brokerage until the license is reinstated or he has paid all penalties and fees and requalified.
  9. What if a salesperson has enrolled in and paid for an approved post-license course within the first year but has not completed the course?
    He may reinstate the lapsed license if he completes the course within 6 months of license lapse.
  10. How long does a salesperson have to re-qualify if he has not completed nor enrolled in the course within one year?
    • He has 5 years to re-qualify by completing the course and paying all required penalties and fees.
    • After 5 years the person must re-qualify as an original applicant
  11. General requirements for individuals to get a Broker's license
    • At least 21 years old
    • Georgia resident, unless applying for a nonresident license
    • High school graduate or hold a certificate of equivalency
    • Actively licensed as a salesperson or CAM for at least 3 of the previous 5 years before taking a Broker's exam
    • Be of good and honest character, and not have been convicted of any felony or crime involving moral turpitude, and not have violated and fair housing laws.
  12. Application requirements for individuals' broker's license
    • Complete required broker education
    • Pass a state licensing exam
    • Make proper application for a license (active or inactive) within 12 months from date of the exam. After 12 months, the prospective applicant must retake the state licensing exam. 
    • The broker who is to be responsible for the licensee must sign the license application form.
  13. How many hours of approved broker education is required for a salesperson applicant?
    60 hours of broker education
  14. How many hours of approved broker education is required for a CAM applicant?
    • 60 hours of broker education
    • +
    • additional 75 hours of salesperson's pre-license course
  15. What are the criteria for eligibility for Armed Forces and for how much Exam Credit?
    • License candidates who have at least 1 year of service with 90 days of wartime and an honorable discharge, are eligible to receive 5 extra points added to their exam score.
    • License candidates, who have service related disability of at least 10%, are eligible to receive 10 extra points added to the exam score.
  16. When applying for license, applicants must submit a ______________ report that has been issued within the previous ______ days.
    Georgia Criminal Information Center (GCIC) report issued within previous 60 days.
  17. Where can you get a GCIC report?
    From most police stations, sheriff's office or probate court
  18. How long before convicted felons can reapply for a real estate license in GA after they're released from prison?
    at least 10 years
  19. How does Preliminary Decision help in the case of convictions?
    Because of the time and expense involved in becoming an applicant for licensure, the commission affords an individual, who has not yet become an applicant, the opportunity to request the commission make a preliminary decision on any convictions or disciplinary actions against the individual, before the individual takes the required education and examination for license.
  20. Preliminary decisions are binding on the commission.

    a. True
    b. False
    b.  False 

    Preliminary Decisions are not binding on the commission, but a preliminary decision can become a final decision without further investigation or hearing when the individual becomes an applicant for licensure.
  21. If the commission denies a license based on past criminal history, how long does the applicant have to request a hearing to appeal the decision?
    Such requests must be made within 60 days of denial
  22. When can an applicant request a judicial review?
    • According to the Georgia Administrative Procedure Act, any applicant denied a license for any reason may request a hearing.
    • If the applicant is still not satisfied he may request a judicial review by the superior court of the county where the commission is located.
  23. What type of license is a brokerage firm issue?
    A broker's license
  24. _____________ are the only licensees authorized to enter into contracts or agreements with the public to perform acts of brokerage for compensation.
    Brokerage firms

    • Individual licensees cannot act in their own name.
    • They made only advertise and perform acts of brokerage in the name of the licensed firm with whom they are associated.
  25. Does the compensation for services always have to be money?
    It can be money or anything else of value
  26. When does a brokerage firm qualify for a license?
    • Proper application must be made on a form approved by the commission
    • The firm designates a licensed broker to be the firm's qualifying broker
    • Every person who acts as a licensee for the firm holds a real estate license
  27. All business must be conducted under the name of?

    A. The firm's qualifying broker's name
    B. The name in which the commission issues the broker license for the firm
    C. The licensed broker's name
    D. The individual licensee's name
    B. The  name in which the commission issues the broker license for the firm
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  28. Can a brokerage firm conduct business under a trade name?
    Yes, it must submit a copy of its Certificate of Trade Name, certified by the Clerk of County in which the certificate is on file.
  29. What name must be used for a sole proprietorship brokerage firm?
    A broker operating as a sole proprietor must supply the commission with the name in which the broker intends to conduct business on the broker application for licensure, and the same name will be shown on the broker's individual certificate of licensure as qualifying broker.
  30. What are the requirements for a nonresident applicant who is not licensed in any other state to apply for a Georgia license?
    He will need to meet all the same requirements of a new Georgia applicant
  31. What are the requirements for a nonresident applicant who is licensed in another state to apply for a Georgia license?
    • Provide proof of license status in good standing
    • Pay appropriate fees
    • State in writing he has read and understands Georgia license law and rules and regulations
    • Affiliate with a broker (resident or nonresident) if applying for a salesperson's license
    • Supply documentation of any disciplinary actions by any jurisdiction
    • Appoint the commissioner as the licensee's agent to receive legal notices
    • State in writing that the licensee will cooperate with commission's investigations
  32. Under what circumstances, can nonresidents be exempted from Georgia's education and exam requirements?
    If they can provide the commission with proof that they completed equivalent education and exam requirements in their state where they are currently licensed
  33. Are nonresidents required to submit a certified criminal history report?
    Nonresidents must submit a certified criminal history report from their resident state, province, or territory that is if equivalent to the GCIC report required of Georgia candidates
  34. Can a anon-resident broker practice real estate in GA with no GA license??
    • Yes, if he enters into a proper written agreement with a GA broker.
    • The GA broker is responsible for all GA brokerage acts of the out-of-state broker, and the GA broker is responsible for knowing that the out-of-state broker holds a valid broker's license in his licensing jurisdiction.
  35. What should be contained in the written agreement between a non-resident broker with no GA license and his GA broker?
    • The written agreement must, in part, include:
    • How commissions will be split
    • Negotiations concerning any GA real estate will be conducted only with the express agreement of the GA broker
    • Trust funds will be held in the GA broker's trust account, unless otherwise agreed to in writing by all
    • All listings and management agreements will be in the name of the GA broker
    • All advertising and contracts will identify the GA listing broker
  36. What if the out-of-state broker violates Georgia real estate law, or commission rules and regulations?
    • The commission may suspend or revoke the privilege of the Georgia broker to enter into any further agreements with out-of-state brokers.
    • However, if the Georgia broker is found to have participated in the violation, or failed to have a proper written agreement, then the commission may take additional action against the Georgia broker's license.
  37. A prospective applicant for a real estate salesperson's license takes the state exam and passes it in September 2007. In October 2008, the person submits his application for a real estate license.
    A. This person must pay a fee equal to two times the original fee.
    B. This person must retake the 75 hour required education prior to submitting his application.
    C. This person must complete post-license education before submitting his application.
    D. This person must retake the state licensing exam.
    D. This person must retake the state licensing exam.
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  38. Sam was issued a real estate sales license on September 10, 2008.  Sam took and passed the required post-license course on September 1, 2007.  Sam must retake the required post-license course before September 10, 2009.

    a. True
    b. False
    a. True
  39. Sara is a new licensee who paid for and enrolled in an approved post-license course 10 months after her license was issued, but has failed to complete the course within the allowed one year. Sara has one client who is looking at several properties, and one client who has signed a contract on a house.

    A. Sara must pay all penalties and fees to re-qualify as a licensee
    B. Sara cannot present the contract, and cannot show houses, and must complete her course within 18 months of her license issue date.
    C. Sara can present the contract to the seller as long as she has the permission of her broker, and she finishes her course within 6 months
    D. Sara's broker must present the contract, but Sara can continue to show houses as long as she completes her course within 6 months
    B. Sara cannot present the contract, and cannot show houses, and must complete her course within 18 months of her license issue date.
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  40. All prospective broker licensees must be at least 18 years of age.

    a. True
    b. False
    b. False
  41. All original applicants for an individual Georgia real estate license must do the following EXCEPT:

    A. Obtain a GCIC report
    B. Have a high school diploma or certificate of equivalency
    C. Pass a state licensing exam
    D. Affiliate with a broker
    D. Affiliate with a broker
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  42. In order to qualify for a broker's license an applicant must

    A. Complete  an approved course and have at least 3 years as an active licensee
    B. Be at least 18 years old
    C. Complete an approved course and have at least 2 years as an active licensee
    D. Complete  an approved course and have at least 5 years as an active licensee
    A. Complete an approved course and have at least 3 years as an active licensee
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  43. Which of the following statements is NOT true?

    A. If an applicant requests a preliminary decision and the commission denies a license, the individual may not appeal the decision
    B. All applicants must submit a criminal history report
    C. An applicant with a criminal history may request a preliminary decision prior to taking required education
    D. If the commission denies a license based on criminal history the applicant has 60 days to request a hearing
    A. If an applicant requests a preliminary decision and the commission denies a license, the individual may not appeal the decision
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  44. When an out of-state person who is not licensed in another state must apply for a Georgia real estate license he must

    A. Get a Georgia broker to sponsor him
    B.  Meet the same requirements as a Georgia original applicant
    C. State in writing he understands Georgia licensed law and regulations
    D. Not have a criminal history
    B. Meet the same requirements as a Georgia original applicant
    (this multiple choice question has been scrambled)
  45. A real estate brokerage firm must be licensed as a real estate broker.

    a. True
    b. False
    a. True

What would you like to do?

Home > Flashcards > Print Preview