2012 Make-up Examination

Card Set Information

Author:
sccfoa
ID:
229851
Filename:
2012 Make-up Examination
Updated:
2013-08-13 01:56:39
Tags:
SCCFOA NCAA FOOTBALL
Folders:

Description:
2012 Clinic Examination
Show Answers:

Home > Flashcards > Print Preview

The flashcards below were created by user sccfoa on FreezingBlue Flashcards. What would you like to do?


  1. With regards to possible chop blocks, (except during kick plays or following a change of team possession); a low-low block anywhere on the field, with or without delay between contacts is a legal block.
    True
  2. Running back A28, who at the snap is stationary and has part of the frame of his body inside of the Tackle who is inside of the Tackle Box may only block below the waist along a north–south line or toward his adjacent sideline.
    False
  3. On free kicks the play clock will start when the back judge hands the ball to the kicker.
    False
  4. The game clock will start on the referee’s ready for play signal after a running play out of bounds for a new first down during the entire game.
    False
  5. It is a foul to grab the quarterback by the back of jersey and immediately pull him to the ground while he is still in the tackle box.
    False
  6. In the event of an injured player(s) an official will declare a timeout and the player(s) must leave the game. He must remain out of the game for at least one down.
    True
  7. Fourth and three at the Team A 40 yard line. B intercepts A’s legal forward pass and advances across A’s goal line. B was offside. A accepts the penalty. The clock will start on the ready as Team A is awarded a first down after enforcement of the penalty.
    False
  8. A period shall be extended for an untimed down if a penalty is accepted for a live-ball foul by either team, unless the statement of the penalty includes loss of down.
    True
  9. During the 3rd quarter the Center’s helmet comes off during the play. No foul was called causing the helmet to come off the Center’s head. Team A may take a team timeout and keep the Center in the game.
    *True*
  10. The plane of the goal line includes the two pylons. This plane is extended for an airborne player that leaves the ground with the ball only if he next touches a pylon or the ground in the end zone.
    True
  11. B16 muffs the opening kick-off in flight in his end-zone. To prevent Team A from covering the ball for a TD, B16 bats the ball out the back of the end-zone. Ruling: Safety
    False
  12. On a sweep to right, left guard A65, in the blocking zone blocks nose guard B53. The block is from behind and initial contact is below the knee. Ruling: Legal block.
    False
  13. A third sideline interference penalty against the same team will result in a 15-yard penalty from the succeeding spot or kickoff if it happens during a scoring play.
    True
  14. Beyond the neutral zone, receiver A36 is about to receive a legal forward pass. B18 drives into his helmet into A36 prior to the pass arriving. Ruling: A foul for Defensive Pass Interference is the only option.
    False
  15. When it is obvious that a scrimmage kick will be made, no opponent shall run into or rough the kicker even if the kicker has carried the ball outside the tackle box before kicking.
    False
  16. At the end of the 3rd quarter the Linebacker’s helmet comes off during the play. The Linebacker may not return until the second play of the 4th quarter.
    True
  17. A lineman positioned more than seven yards from the center (middle lineman) of the formation is restricted in regards to blocking below the waist.
    *False*
  18. Unsportsmanlike Conduct fouls (by players) will be enforced as either live ball or dead ball fouls depending on when they occur.
    True
  19. The receiving team on all kicks (except field-goal attempts) will have the option of enforcing the penalty for all kicking team fouls either at the previous spot or at the spot where the subsequent dead ball belongs to the receiving team.
    False
  20. There is no longer a foul or a 15-yard penalty for “Illegal Participation”.
    True
  21. It is illegal for a player to go out of bounds to block an opponent who is out of bounds. This is a personal foul and the 15-yard penalty is enforced from the spot of the block.
    False
  22. Team A executes an onside kick at the A-35. The ball quickly strikes the ground off the tee, hits again at the A-38, and bounds high into the air. Receiver B22 is standing in position to receive the ball at the A-47. Just as B22 is about to grasp the ball A66 leaps in front of him, grabs the ball and lands on the ground at the A-49 with the ball firmly in his control. RULING: Foul by A66, interference with the opportunity to receive the kick. 15-yard penalty at the spot of the foul, first and 10 for Team B.
    False
  23. To legally “Ground” the ball the passer need only have an eligible receiver in the area. The receiver no longer needs to have an opportunity to catch the pass.
    True
  24. Third and 15 at the A-45. Quarterback A12 drops back to pass and is sacked by tackle B77 for a 10-yard loss. B77 leaps to his feet, beats his chest and stands over A12 taunting him, drawing flags from the referee and the line judge. After enforcement of the penalty it will be Team A’s ball, fourth and 10 at the 50 yard line.
    False
  25. First and 10 at A-30. QB A11 drops straight back into the pocket and looks for an open receiver. He is unable to do so and under extreme pressure at the A-20 he throws the ball directly into the ground at the feet of Right Tackle A77. There is not an eligible receiver in the area. As A11 releases the ball he is contacted above the shoulders by B99. RULING: Offset; replay first down.
    True
  26. For offensive players in motion behind the snapper (between the guards) the adjacent sideline is sideline toward which he is moving at the snap.
    INVALID
  27. The Team A back is set directly behind the right tackle and in the tackle box when he starts in motion with a shuffle step to the left. He is behind the left guard when the ball is snapped. This player is unrestricted in regards to blocking below the waist.
    *False*
  28. Shield Blocking... No defensive player may try to block a punt by leaving his feet in an attempt to leap directly over an opponent who is in or outside the tackle box.
    False
  29. Team A comes to the line and fails to get all eleven players set for a full second before snapping the ball. Let the play continue, this is a live-ball foul resulting in a 5-yard penalty.
    False
  30. Team A is in its formation to kick off at the A-35. Two players, A33 and A66, are positioned in a four-point stance with their feet on the A-29 and their hands on the A-31. The untouched kick hits the ground in Team B’s end zone and is declared dead. RULING: Touchback. Team A foul, illegal formation.
    True
  31. Formation of a wedge on free kicks is not a foul when the kick results in a touchback or from an obvious on-side kick.
    True
  32. A restricted Team A player may not block an opponent below the waist in the tackle box.
    *False* if from front
  33. The Team A runner goes out of bounds with 2:00 remaining in the second quarter. After spotting the ball the game clock will start on the ready for play.
    True
  34. Team A completes a pass to the tight end who runs for a touchdown. The left tackle is called for holding. Following the 10-yard previous spot penalty the game clock will start on the ready for play.
    False
  35. It is possible to have a foul for roughing the passer even if the passer throws an illegal forward pass.
    True
  36. Before a change of team possession players of Team B may block below the waist only within the area defined by lines parallel to the goal line five yards beyond and behind the neutral zone extended to the sidelines. Blocking below the waist by players of Team B outside this zone is illegal.
    True
  37. Third and 10 at the B-20. Team A QB throws a touchdown pass on the last timed down of the fourth quarter, trailing 21-20. The LJ correctly rules the QB/passer over the line of scrimmage when the pass was thrown from the B-18. RULING: Fourth and 13 at the B-23. Untimed down; previous spot foul and loss of down.
    False
  38. Late in the first quarter ball carrier A22 is legally tackled, and his helmet comes off just after his back hits the ground. The game clock reads 0:00. RULING: A22 must leave the game for the next down, which will be the initial down of the second quarter. A22’s helmet came off through play and there was no helmet foul by Team B.
    True
  39. On a conversion try that started at the B 3 yard line, B-47 commits D.P.I. in his own end zone. After the penalty is enforced, the ball will next be snapped from the B 2 yard line.
    False
  40. Professional medical personnel must approve the return of any injured or bleeding player for whom the officials have stopped the clock for an injury timeout.
    True
  41. When in question it is a foul for situations involving targeting an opponent or initiating contact with the crown of the helmet.
    True
  42. Players are no longer required to wear kneepads.
    False
  43. Socks must be of the same color and design; however, there is no requirement that players wear the same length of sock.
    True
  44. Eye shades worn must be solid black in color with no words, numbers, logos, or other symbols.
    True
  45. On tries for point and in extra periods, fouls by the scoring team after a change of team possession cancel the score and the down is not replayed.
    True
  46. It is a foul for roughing or running into the kicker if the defender is blocked (illegally or legally) into the kicker.
    False
  47. On a free kick, catch interference occurs at the A-45. The ball subsequently goes out of bounds at the 50-yard line untouched by Team B. Team B may accept or decline either penalty.
    True
  48. Beginning in 2012, all touchbacks will result in the ball being placed at the Team B 25 yard line.
    False
  49. Team A has been set for one second when the fullback moves to a new position. He stops, but before one second elapses the ball is snapped. The HL and LJ correctly throw flags for an illegal shift.
    False
  50. Team B player catches a long punt at the B-10 and is tackled at the B-22. During the runback, a Team B player holds on the B-24. Team A was in illegal formation at the snap. RULING: Fouls offset and Team A repeats fourth down, no option.
    False

What would you like to do?

Home > Flashcards > Print Preview