Study Guide-Chapter 11

The flashcards below were created by user MisaelAguirre115 on FreezingBlue Flashcards.

  1. New Monarchs
    The New Monarchs was a concept developed by European historians during the first half of the 20th century to characterize 15th-century.
  2. Valois line of French monarchs
    The kingdom of France existed from 987 (or arguably from 843 as kingdom of the Western Franks) until 1792 (the French Revolution). The Capetian Dynasty, the male-line descendants of Hugh Capet, ruled France continuously from 987 to 1792 and again from 1814 to 1848.
  3. Louis XI
    Louis XI (3 July 1423 – 30 August 1483), called the Prudent (French: le Prudent), was a monarch of the House of Valois who ruled as King of France from 1461 to 1483. He succeeded his father Charles VII.
  4. Francis I
    Francis I (French: François Ier) (12 September 1494 – 31 March 1547) was a monarch of the House of Valois who ruled as King of France from 1515 until his death. He was the son of Charles, Count of Angoulême, and Louise of Savoy.
  5. Concordat of Bologna,1516
    The Concordat of Bologna (1516), marking a stage in the evolution of the Gallican Church, was an agreement[1] between King Francis I of France and Pope Leo X that Francis negotiated in the wake of his victory at Marignano in September 1515.
  6. Taille
    The taille (French pronunciation: [taj]) was a direct land tax on the French peasantry and non-nobles inAncien Régime France. The tax was imposed on each household and based on how much land it held.
  7. War of the Roses
    The Wars of the Roses were a series of dynastic wars fought between supporters of two rival branches of the royal House of Plantagenet: the houses of Lancaster and York (whose heraldic symbols were the red and the white rose, respectively) for the throne of England.
  8. Tudor Dynasty
    The Tudor dynasty or House of Tudor was a European royal house of Welsh origin,[1]descended from Prince Rhys ap Tewdwr, that ruled the Kingdom of England and its realms, including the Lordship of Ireland, later the Kingdom of Ireland, from 1485 until 1603.
  9. Henry VII
    Henry VII (Welsh: Harri Tudur; 28 January 1457 – 21 April 1509) was King of England andLord of Ireland from his seizing the crown on 22 August 1485 until his death on 21 April 1509, as the first monarch of the House of Tudor.
  10. Star Chamber
    The Star Chamber (Latin: Camera stellata) was an English court of law that sat at the royal Palace of Westminster from the late 15th century until 1641.
  11. Ferdinand and Isabella
    The Catholic Monarchs (Spanish: Reyes Católicos)[1] is the joint title used in history for Queen Isabella I of Castile[2] and King Ferdinand II of Aragon.
  12. Reconquista
    The Reconquista ("reconquest")[a][b] is a period of approximately 781 years in the history of the Iberian Peninsula, from the first Islamic invasion in 711 to the fall of Granada, the last Islamic state on the peninsula, in 1492.
  13. Hermandades
    Hermandad, literally "brotherhood" in Spanish, was a peacekeeping association of armed individuals, which became characteristic of municipal life in medieval Spain, especially in Castile.
  14. Spanish Inquisiton
    The Tribunal of the Holy Office of the Inquisition (Spanish: Tribunal del Santo Oficio de la Inquisición), commonly known as the Spanish Inquisition (Inquisición española), was established in 1478 by Catholic Monarchs, Ferdinand II of Aragon and Isabella I of Castile.
  15. Tomás de Torquemada
    Tomás de Torquemada, (Thomas of Torquemada), O.P. (1420 – September 16, 1498) was a 15th-century Spanish Dominican friar and the first Grand Inquisitor in Spain's movement to restore Christianity among its populace in the late 15th century.
  16. Conversos
    A converso (Spanish: [komˈberso]; Portuguese: [kõˈvɛɾsu]; Catalan: convers [kumˈbɛrs], [komˈvɛɾs]; "a convert", from Latin conversvs, "converted, turned around") and its feminine form conversa was a Jew or Muslim who converted to Catholicism in Spain or Portugal, particularly during the 14th and 15th centuries, or one of their descendents.
  17. Habsburg
    The House of Habsburg (/ˈhæbs.bɜrɡ/; German pronunciation: [ˈhaːps.bʊʁk]), also spelledHapsburg,[1] was one of the most important royal houses of Europe. The throne of theHoly Roman Empire was continuously occupied by the Habsburgs between 1438 and 1740.
  18. Holy Roman Empire
    The Holy Roman Empire was a multi-ethnic and complex union of territories inCentral Europe existing from 962 to 1806. It was ruled by an emperor who was elected by powerful princes. How much power the Emperor had versus the princes, bishops and the pope was a highly controversial issue.
  19. Maximilian I
    Maximilian I (22 March 1459 – 12 January 1519), the son of Frederick III, Holy Roman Emperor and Eleanor of Portugal, was King of the Romans (also known as King of the Germans) from 1486 and Holy Roman Emperor from 1493 until his death, though he was never in fact crowned by the Pope, the journey to Rome always being too risky.
  20. Charles V
    Charles V (Spanish: Carlos I; German: Karl V.; Croatian: Karlo V; Dutch: Karel V; Italian:Carlo V; Czech: Karel V.; French: Charles Quint; 24 February 1500 – 21 September 1558) was ruler of the Holy Roman Empire from 1519 and, as Charles I, of the Spanish Empirefrom 1516 until his voluntary retirement and abdication in favor of his younger brotherFerdinand I as Holy Roman Emperor and his son Philip II as King of Spain in 1556.
Card Set:
Study Guide-Chapter 11
2013-10-19 21:58:10
Chapter 11

Chapter 11 vocabulary
Show Answers: