Erikson's Stages of Psychosocial Development

The flashcards below were created by user chanchan27104 on FreezingBlue Flashcards.

  1. Infancy (to 1 year)
    • Issue: Trust vs. Mistrust
    • Description of Task: If needs are dependably met, infants develop sense of basic trust
  2. Toddlerhood (1-3 years)
    • Issue: Autonomy vs. Shame and Doubt
    • DoT: Toddlers learn to exercise their will and do things for themselves, or they doubt their abilities
  3. Preschool (3-6 years)
    • Issue: Initiative vs. Guilt
    • DoT: Preschoolers learn to initiate tasks and carry out plans, or they feel guilty about their efforts to be independent
  4. Elementary school (6 years to puberty)
    • Issue: Industry vs. Inferiority
    • DoT: Children learn the pleasure of applying themselves to tasks, or they feel inferior
  5. Adolescence (teen years into 20s)
    • Issue: Identity vs. Role Confusion
    • DoT: Teenagers work at refining a sense of self by testing roles and then integrating them to form a single identity or they become confused about who they are
  6. Young Adulthood (20s to early 40s)
    • Issue: intimacy vs. Isolation
    • DoT: Young adults struggle to form close relationships and to gain the capacity for intimate love, or they feel socially isolated
  7. Middle Adulthood (40s to 60s)
    • Issue: Generativity vs. Stagnation
    • DoT: In middle age, people discover a sense of contributing to the world, or they may feel a lack of purpose
  8. Late Adulthood (late 60s and up)
    • Issue: Integrity vs. Despair
    • DoT: Reflecting on his/her life, an older adult may feel a sense of satisfaction or failure
Card Set:
Erikson's Stages of Psychosocial Development
2013-11-11 16:30:58

Show Answers: