Socket Types

The flashcards below were created by user Lencha on FreezingBlue Flashcards.

  1. Intel Only Pentium 4, Pentium 4 Extreme Edition (single core), Pentium D Celeron D, Pentium Extreme Edition (dual core), Core 2 Duo, Core 2 Extreme, Core 2 Quad, Xeon, Celeron (4xx, Exxxx Series)
    LGA 775 Socket T
  2. Intel Only: Replacement for LGA 1156 to support CPUs based on the Sandy Bridge (such as Celeron G4xx and G5xx) and eventual Ivy Bridge architectures.
    LGA 1155 Socket H2
  3. Intel only: Celeron (G1xxx series) Core i3, Core i5, Core i7 8xx series), Pentium (G6xxx series), Xeon (34xx series)
    LGA 1156 Socket H
  4. Intel only: Core i7 (9xx series) , Xeon (35xx, 36xx, 55xx, 56xx series), Intel Celeron P1053
    LGA 1366 Socket B
  5. AMD only: Athlon 64 FX (FX-51, -53), Opteron
    Socket 940
  6. AMD only: Athlon 64, Athlon 64 X2, Athlon 64 FX, Opteron, Sempron, Phenom
    Socket AM2
  7. AMD only: Often backward compatible with AM2 CPUs as well as Athlon II and Phenom II and forward Compatible with AM3 CPUs
  8. AMD only: DDR3 capable CPUs only (thus not compatible with AM2+ CPUs), such as Phenom II Athlon II, Sempron, Opteron 138x, and has the potential to accept AM3+ CPUs
  9. AMD only: Specified for CPUs based on the Bulldozer microarchitecture and design to accept AM3 CPUs
    Socket AM3+
  10. AMD only: Designed to accept AMD Fusion APUs that incorporate CPUs and GPUs such as the E2-3200 and the A Series
    Socket FM1
  11. AMD only: OPteron (2xxx, 8xxx series), Athlon 64 FX (FX-7x series) and replaced by Sockets C32 and G34
    Socket F (LGA)
Card Set
Socket Types
Socket Review
Show Answers