Driving

Card Set Information

Author:
scoostee25
ID:
30787
Filename:
Driving
Updated:
2010-08-22 16:30:48
Tags:
Driving NJ Law
Folders:

Description:
Specific NJ Law and GDL information
Show Answers:

Home > Flashcards > Print Preview

The flashcards below were created by user scoostee25 on FreezingBlue Flashcards. What would you like to do?


  1. What does GDL mean?
    New Jersey's Graduated Driver License Program introducing driving privileges gradually to first time drivers and applicants UNDER 21 years of age.
  2. Who can apply for a license under the GDL?
    FIRST TIME DRIVERS...if you've NEVER HAD a driver license in NJ. Under the age of 21.
  3. What is the age range for the GDL?
    16-21 years of age.
  4. How many options are there in the GDL program?
    There are three options; Student Learner Permit, Examination Permit for at least 17 year olds, examination permit for at least 21 years of age.
  5. Which option must pass the MVC knowledge and vision tests?
    All of them.
  6. Which option must have a signed parent of guardian consent?
    • 16 year old learner permit.
    • 17 year old examination permit.
  7. Which option must be enrolled in an approved behind the wheel driving training course?
    16 year old student learner permit.
  8. How many hourse of behind the wheel instruction must a student learner [16 years of age] have?
    6 hours with an approved driving instructor.
  9. Who is restricted from driving between 5 a.m. and 11:01 p.m.?
    16 year old student driving permit holder.
  10. *Who is restricted from driving between 5 a.m. and 12:02 p.m.?
    17 year old provisional driver license holder.
  11. What restrictions apply to ADULT GDL drivers?
    • All occupants must wear safety belts.
    • Driver cannot use cell phone or any wireless device while driving.
  12. Which GDL license holders are required to have all occupants wear safety belts?
    • A. Student Learner Permit holders
    • B. Examination Learner Permit holders, age 17
    • C. Examination Learner Permit holders, age 21 and under
    • D. All of the above
  13. Which GDL license driver's cannot use cell phones or any wireless device while driving?
    • A. Student Learner Permit holders, age 16
    • B. Examination Learner Permit holders, age 17
    • C. Examination Learner Permit holders, age 21 and under
    • D. All of the above
  14. *Who must be accompanied by an adult supervising driver, who must be at least 21 years old and licensed to drive for at least three years?
    • 16 years old
    • 17 years old
  15. Which driver has no passenger restrictions?
    21 years old
  16. Which drivers cannot use wireless telephone or any wireless device while driving?
    All drivers cannot use wireless telephones or any wireless device while driving in New Jersey.
  17. Where can any New Jersey resident who is at least 17 years of age, not in suspension status obtain a driver examination permit in New Jersey?
    Any Motor Vehicle Commission Agency with proof of identification, and having passed the knowledge and vision tests.
  18. *How long is the period of time for a Provisional Driver's license?
    12 months.
  19. What must ALL holders of a Provisional Driver license whose provisional licensening period is NOT EXTENDED by MVC do?
    Must upgrade to a BASIC DRIVER LICENSE after the end of those 12 months.
  20. When will the MVC validate a student learner permit?
    • AFTER completion of the commercial training course.
    • This includes passing of the written [knowledge] test, the vision test, and six hours behind the wheel of instruction with an approved driving school.
  21. How long must a student learner permit holder practice with an adult supervising driver?
    At least six months.
  22. How old is a student learner permit holder?
    16 years old.
  23. How long must an examination permit holder practice with an adult supervising driver?
    At least 17 years old must practice at least 6 months.
  24. *How long must a 21 year old or older first time driver practice?
    At least 3 months.
  25. When may a student learner permit holder obtain a provisional license?
    • After completing at least six months of supervised driving.
    • Passed the MVC's road test.
    • Must be at least 17 years old.
  26. When may an examination learner permit holder obtain a provisional license?
    • Must have completed the required supervised driving period.
    • Must have passed the MVC road test.
  27. How old must you be to obain the basic driver license in New Jersey?
    18 years old.
  28. How long must you practice unsupervised driving with a provisional license before getting a basic driver license?
    • 16 year olds=at least one year and be 18 years of age
    • 17 year olds=at least one year and be 18 years of age
    • At least 21=at least one year
  29. In addition to completing the unsupervised driving period, what are the other requirements to be completed before getting the basic driver license?
    • 16 year olds must observe examination permit driving restrictions
    • 17 year olds must follow examination permit requirements
    • 21 year olds must observe Adult GDL driving restrictions
    • Pass a road test
  30. Who must follow passenger restrictions?
    • Student learner permit holders, age 16
    • Examination permit holders, 17-20
    • If a driver is at least 21 years old, there are no passenger restrictions
  31. Which license must a driver hold to be able to obtain a CDL - commercial driver's license?
    Basic.
  32. Which license must a driver hold to be able to obtain a motorcycle license?
    Basic.
  33. Which license is required to operate large trucks, buses and vehicles that move hazardous materials HAZMAT?
    Commercial driver's license. [CDL]
  34. *How many years does New Jersey issue a drive license?
    Four years.
  35. *If 70 years of age, how many years does New Jersey issue you a license?
    Two years.
  36. New Jersey issues a driver's license that differs in physical appearance for ages under or older than 21?
    BOTH...NJ issues a different looking license for drivers under the age of 21...therefore drivers over the age of 21 have a different looking license than that of someone under 21.
  37. *Possessing or displaying an altered or counterfeited license is punishable by...
    License suspension, fine and jail time.
  38. *How much more time does a truck need to slow down versus a car?
    25% more time.
  39. What colors are in the following positions of a signal light?
    • Top..............RED
    • Center..........YELLOW
    • Bottom..........GREEN
  40. Why must the supervising's driver's vision be clear in a car?
    To be able to STOP the vehicle.
  41. What papers are required to take the road test?
    • 1. VALIDATED permit or provisional license
    • 2. Original civil birth certificate of the person to be tested
    • 3. Valid registration for the car
    • 4. Valid prood of car's LIABILITY insurance
    • 5. Valid driver's license for the supervising driver who accompanies the person to be tested
  42. Does the vehicle in which one takes the driving road test have an emergency brake access free to the individual testing?
    YES...the person who is testing must be able to stop the vehicle with his/her left hand...or you will NOT BE TESTED. The Motor Vehicle testing person must be able to stop the car or there will not be a road test.

What would you like to do?

Home > Flashcards > Print Preview