NUR 106 Developmental Stages/milestone/Stressors

The flashcards below were created by user rmwartenberg on FreezingBlue Flashcards.

  1. Stage One Trust Vs Mistrust
    NUR206: age( 0-12 months)
    Teaching: Geared towards teaching the parents.
    • New Born-18months-
    • Positive-results in confidence, optimism
    • Negative-dissatifaction with self and other
    • Maladaptive-over trusting
    • Malignant-withdrawn
    • Balance-Hopeful
  2. when does birth weight double?
    6 months
  3. when does the child sit unsupported?
  4. When does the child receive 50% of adult height?
    2 Years
  5. When does a child throw a ball overhand?
    18 months
  6. When does a child speak two-three word sentences?
    2 years
  7. when does a child use scissors?
    4 years
  8. when does a child tie his or her shoes?
    4-5 years
  9. When does a child pull him/herself up to stand?
    1 year
  10. when does a child develop a social smile?
    3 months
  11. When can a child support upper body while lying prone?
    3 months
  12. When does a child feed him/herself? and use a cup?
    9-12 months
  13. when does a child hop and skip?
    4-5 years
  14. which stage of development is most unstable and challenging regarding developmental personal identity?
    adolescence -Stage 5 -13-19years.
  15. Seperation anxiety?
    detachment toddler 18-months -3 years.
  16. When does a child respond to the word no?
    4-7 months
  17. Stage two Autonomy vs Shame/guilt
    NUR206: Age (1-3 years)
    Teaching: Geared towards parents, use simple words for child and use play/ pictures.
    • 18m-3years
    • Positive-independence-
    • Negative-lack of self confidence
    • maladaptive-impulsiveness
    • Malignant-compulsiveness 
    • Balance-willpower
  18. Stage three initiative vs guilt
    NUR206: Age (3-6 years)
    Teaching: play therapy, simple pictures for learning and stories, allow manipulation of objects.
    • 4-5 years preschool
    • Positive-Self control
    • Negative-inadequate-scared to try new things
    • Maladaptive-Ruthlessness
    • Malignant-inhibited
    • Balance-purpose
  19. Stage four industry vs inferiority
    Teaching: psycho-motor skills, offer opportunities to answer questions, play therapy-group activities, adhere to group rules.
    • 6-12 years-school age
    • Positive-moves from fantasy to real world-mastery of work habits
    • negative-difficulty with interpersonal relationships-cover up-inadequacy
    • Maladaptive-Narrow virtuosity
    • Malignant -inertia-resisitance
    • Balance-competency
  20. Stage five-Identity vs role confusion
    NUR206: Age (12-18)
    Teaching: allow them to make decisions on health and health promotion, ensure confidentiality, use problem solving to help make choices, use peers for support and influence.
    • 13-19 years adolescence 
    • Positive-maturing Independence
    • Negative-leads to rebellion and delinquency
    • Maladaptive-Fanaticism
    • Malignant-repudiation-drink the apple juice
    • Balance-fidelity
  21. Stage six- intimacy vs isolation
    NUR206: Age (19-40)
    Teaching: encourage participation in teaching plan by setting mutual goals, encourage independent learning, offer information so adults understand effects of health problems.
    • 18-25y early adult hood
    • Positive-mutual respect and love in healthy relationships
    • Negative-social isolation-unable to create health relationships
    • Maladaptive-promiscuity
    • Malignant-exclusion-inability to commit
    • Balance-LOVE
  22. Stage seven-Generativity vs stagnation
    • 26-65years Middle Adult hood
    • Positive-acheivement of ones goals and considering future generations
    • Negative-Self indulgence-no ability to care for others
    • Maladaptive-overextension-caring for others not able to care forself
    • Malignant-Self centered unable to care for others, Midlife crisis.
    • Balance-Caring
  23. Stage Eight-integrity vs despair
    NUR206: age (65 and older)
    Teaching: Use concrete examples when rested and alert, experiential, one concept at a time, use repetition.
    • 65Y-death older adulthood
    • positive-feel good about life and lifes goals
    • Negative-feelings of worthlessness, wants a do over.
    • Maladaptive-presumption-feels like they did everything right.  Retrogression-children should take care of you.
    • Malignant-disdain-contempt for others-unable to cope with life.
    • Balance-Wisdom-acceptance of life.
  24. Daily hassles
    ◦physical work, shift work, overload, patient concerns◦interpersonal problems◦family caregiving
  25. Environmental stressors
    • —Natural or human caused disaster
    • ——External changes——
    • Affects one or more
  26. Internal stressors
    • ◦Purpose of life◦
    • Responsibilities ◦
    • Commitments◦
    • ◦Spirituality
  27. Physical S/S of Stress
    • —CV:  tightness of chest, ↑ Heart rate
    • —Resp:  breathing difficulty & rate—
    • Neuroendocrine:  Headache, fatigue, insomnia
    • —GI:  change in appetite & weight, GI bleeding—
    • GU: Urinary frequency —
    • MS:  backaches, slumped postures—
    • Reproductive: amenorrhea, impotency, loss of libido
    • —Immune: frequent colds
  28. Emotional S/S of stress
    • —Disruption of logical thinking—
    • Blaming —Others
    • —Lack of motivation—
    • Crying tendencies—
    • Lack of interest
    • —Irritability
    • —Isolation
  29. Behavioral S/S of stress
    • —Worrying—
    • Decreased involvement with others—
    • Withdrawal
    • —↑ or ↓  food intake
    • —↑ smoking or alcohol intake—
    • Excessive humor or silence
    • —No exercise
    • —Overvigilance to environment
  30. Cognitive S/S of Stress
    • —Forgetfulness/preoccupation
    • —Denial
    • —Poor concentration
    • —Inattention to detail
    • —Decreased creativity—
    • Apathy
    • —Confusion—
    • Memory problems
  31. Developmental stressors
    Dependent on the age at which you experience stress. School age, adolescence, early child hood. ex-getting married, buying a house, starting middle school. We all experience stress differently and have levels of tolerable stress.
  32. Maslow's Hierarchy of needs-Loss examples
    • —Physiologic:  amputation, mastectomy, diseases that impair function (COPD)—
    • Safety:  domestic violence, natural disaster, breach in confidentiality
    • —Love & belonging:  change in relationship (birth, marriage, divorce, illness, death), change in role (retirement, empty-nest), change in financial status (bankruptcy, job loss)—
    • Self-esteem:  change in self-perception related to role loss (marriage to widow, worker to retiree)—
    • Self-actualization:  give up on goals or direction
  33. 5 stages of grief
    • Denial
    • anger
    • bargaining
    • depression
    • acceptance
  34. Types of grief
    • disenfranchised-illegitimate relationship-unable to grieve in a normal way.
    • normal-expected emotional & behavioral reactions
    • Complicated-difficulty progressing through loss-encompasses- Chronic, delayed, exaggerated, and masked.
  35. Complicated grief
    • chronic:mourning does not decrease
    • delayed:does not experience loss right away-but later and is considered unexpected(denial)
    • exaggerated: develop deep depression-suicide and alcoholism
    • masked: can't see a connection between grief and unwanted behaviors-drinking more, but can't see it's because of what caused the grief.
  36. ego defense mechanisms
    • dissasociation-compartmentalized memories
    • regression-to a lower state
    • compensation-poor communication-focuses on what they're good at to hide-poor communication.
    • displacement- projecting anger at nurse
    • denial-refusal to discuss prognosis
Card Set:
NUR 106 Developmental Stages/milestone/Stressors
2016-09-25 21:21:27
NUR106 erik
Erik Erickson
Show Answers: