Massachusetts Drives Manual chapter 2: Keeping your license

Card Set Information

Author:
cleidesilva
ID:
31174
Filename:
Massachusetts Drives Manual chapter 2: Keeping your license
Updated:
2010-08-25 01:14:31
Tags:
Drivers manual violations penalties
Folders:

Description:
This chapter explains these events that can cause you to lose your driving privileges, how the law works, and how to avoid losing your driving privileges.
Show Answers:

Home > Flashcards > Print Preview

The flashcards below were created by user cleidesilva on FreezingBlue Flashcards. What would you like to do?


  1. Lose your license
    Major traffic law violations or a series of traffic violations
  2. Penalties may be more severe
    If you hold a Junior Operator’s License, if you are under 21, if you are a repeat offender, or if you are driving with a commercial driver’s license (CDL).
  3. Examples of Non-criminal civil motor vehicle infraction (CMVI)
    Not obeying traffic signals or speeding
  4. You must pay the required fine or request
    a hearing to dispute a CMVI citation within __ days and pay a ___ filling fee.
    2o days, $25
  5. 1. If you do not responding to a CMVI on time ...

    2. Continued failure to pay the citation and late fee ...
    1. You will be found responsible and charged a substantial late payment fee.

    2. Will cause your license to be suspended.
  6. Your driving record will note that you have accepted responsibility for a citation whether you:
    • 1. paid the citation by mail
    • 2. requested a hearing and were ordered by a court to pay the fine
    • 3. or you failed to respond to the citation within the 20-
    • day period.
  7. Unpaid parking violations (which are not not CMVI) will prevent you from:
    Renewing your driver’s license or vehicle registration.
  8. If you are given a citation for driving above the speed limit, the minimum penalty is a __1__fine.
    If you are convicted of driving more than __2__ miles per hour (mph) over the speed limit, you will be
    fined an additional __3__ for each mph you were traveling above.
    By law, all fines for speeding violations include a __4__ surcharge.
    • 1. $100
    • 2. 10
    • 3. $10
    • 4. $50
  9. __1__responsible findings on speeding violations in a __2__month period will result in your license being suspended for __3__ days.
    • 1. 3
    • 2. 12
    • 3. 30
  10. If you hold a Junior Operator’s License, 1st speed offense will result in a __1__ .
    Subsequent offenses will result in a __2__
    • 1. 90-day license suspension
    • 2. one-year license suspension
  11. If you commit a criminal motor vehicle violation (serious offense) , you may:
    • 1. be arrested immediately
    • 2. your vehicle may be towed
    • 3. your license may be taken away
    • 4. you may be placed in jail until a court hearing can be arranged.
  12. Criminal motor vehicle offenses (surchargeable events) include:
    • 1. driving with a suspended license
    • 2. operating underthe influence (OUI)
    • 3. and leaving the scene of an accident
    • 4. not responding truthfully and fully to a police officer
  13. If your license or driving privileges have been suspended or revoked in another state, your Massachusetts license will be ...
    suspended automatically
  14. How are Out-of-State Violations treated in MA?
    • Certain traffic offenses you have committed in other states will be placed on your driving record, will count toward possible license suspension
    • and Safe Driver Insurance Plan surcharges and will be treated by the RMV as if they had occurred in Massachusetts.
  15. What kind of event will negatively affects your driving record?
    • 1. civil motor vehicle violations
    • 2. criminal motor vehicle violations
    • 3. motor vehicle accident for which you are considered to be at fault
  16. For a first drag racing citation, a Junior Operator license will be suspended for __1__ . A
    subsequent drag racing violation will result in a __2__ suspension.
    • 1. one year
    • 2. three year
  17. What if you collect five surchargeable events on your driving record within a three-year period? What are you required to do?
    • You are in danger of having your license suspended.
    • You must complete the retraining course within 90 days (unless you have taken it in the past 3 years) or your license will be suspended indefinitely until you complete the program.
  18. What if you collect seven surchargeable events within a three-year period?
    Your licensewill be suspended automatically for 60 days.
  19. Mandatory License Suspension (18 years or older)

    Situation: Three Speeding Violations
    1. Explanation
    2. Period
    3. Fee
    • 1. Three speeding violations/ responsible findings within any one-year period.
    • 2. 30 days
    • 3. $100
  20. Mandatory License Suspension (18 years or older)

    Situation: Five Surchargeable Events
    1. Explanation
    2. Period
    3. Fee
    • 1. Any combination of moving violations and surchargeable accidents that total five surchargeable events within a three-year period.
    • 2. Must complete Driver Retraining course within 90 days or license will be suspended indefinitely until course is completed.
    • 3. $100
  21. Mandatory License Suspension (18 years or older)

    Situation: Seven Surchargeable Events
    1. Explanation
    2. Period
    3. Fee
    • 1. Any combination of moving violations and surchargeable accidents that total seven surchargeable events within a three-year period.
    • 2. 60 days
    • 3. $100
  22. Mandatory License Suspension (18 years or older)

    Situation: Habitual Traffic Offender
    1. Explanation
    2. Period
    3. Fee
    • 1. A total of three major moving violations or any combination of twelve major or minor moving violations within a five-year period.
    • 2. Four years
    • 3. $500
  23. Mandatory License Suspension (18 years or older)

    Situation: Out-of-State Suspension
    1. Explanation
    2. Period
    3. Fee
    • 1. License has been suspended or revoked in another state.
    • 2. Until the out-of-state suspension is resolved .
    • 3. $100
  24. The Registrar has the discretionary right to suspend or revoke your license in the following cases:
    • 1. Immediate threat
    • 2. Improper operation
    • 3. Fake ID
  25. The Registrar can suspend a driver's license for some reasons unrelated to the person's
    motor vehicle record or a conviction requiring suspension, such as:
    • • Fail to comply with a child support enforcement order
    • • An outstanding arrest or default warrant
    • • Fail to register as a sex offender
    • • Conviction of a drug offense
    • • Fail to pay Massachusetts income tax
    • • Bad payment to the RMV
  26. Mandatory Permit Suspensions (Junior operators, 16 1/2 to 18 years)

    Violation: Conviction for Driving Without a Licensed Driver
    1. Suspension period
    2. Reinstatement requirements
    3. Fee
    • 1. 60 days—first offense, 180 days—second offense, One year—subsequent offenses
    • 2. All offenses require you to retake the knowledge exam. Second offense requires a Driver Attitudinal Retraining course.
    • 3. $100
  27. Mandatory Permit Suspensions (Junior operators, 16 1/2 to 18 years)

    Violation: Conviction for Driving During the Night Restriction
    1. Suspension period
    2. Reinstatement requirements
    3. Fee
    1. 60 days—first offense, 180 days—second offense, One year—subsequent offenses
  28. Mandatory Permit Suspensions (Junior operators, 16 1/2 to 18 years)

    Violation: Conviction for Speeding
    1. Suspension period
    2. Reinstatement requirements
    3. Fee
    • 1. 90 days—first offense, One year—second or subsequent offense
    • 2. All offenses require a new knowledge test
    • 3. $100
  29. Mandatory Permit Suspensions (Junior operators, 16 1/2 to 18 years)

    Violation: Conviction for Drag Racing
    1. Suspension period
    2. Reinstatement requirements
    3. Fee
    • 1. One year—first offense, Three years—second or subsequent offense
    • 2. All offenses require a Driver Attitudinal Retraining course, and a new knowledge test. In addition, you may be required to take a State Courts Against Road Rage (SCARR) course.
    • 3. $500-first offense, $1000-second or subsequent offense
  30. Junior Operator who is convicted of Operating Under the Influence (OUI),
    Operating to Endanger, Leaving the Scene of an Accident, Drinking from an Open Alcohol Container, OUI
    with Serious Bodily Injury, Unauthorized Use of a Motor Vehicle, Reckless/Negligent Operation, Loaning/
    Allowing Another to Use Your License or Learner’s Permit, or Motor Vehicle Homicide will face a __1__
    suspension (in addition to any other suspension required by law) for a first offense, or a __2__ suspension for any subsequent offense.
    • 1. 180 day
    • 2. one year
  31. Mandatory License Suspensions (Junior Operators 6 1/2 to 18 years)

    Violation: Conviction for Violating Passenger or Night Restriction
    1. Suspension period
    2. Reinstatement requirements
    3. Fee
    • 1. 60 days—first offense, 180 days—second offense, One year—subsequent offenses
    • 2. Second and subsequent offenses require a Driver Attitudinal Retraining course. Third and subsequent offenses require a new knowledge and road exam.
    • 3. $100
  32. Mandatory License Suspensions (Junior Operators 6 1/2 to 18 years)

    Violation: Conviction for Speeding
    1. Suspension period
    2. Reinstatement requirements
    3. Fee
    • 1. 90 days—first offense, One year—second or subsequent offense
    • 2. All offenses require a Driver Attitudinal Retraining course, a new knowledge test, and a new road test. In addition, you may be required to take a State Courts Against Road Rage (SCARR) course.
    • 3. $500
  33. Mandatory License Suspensions (Junior Operators 6 1/2 to 18 years)

    Violation: Conviction for Drag Racing
    1. Suspension period
    2. Reinstatement requirements
    3. Fee
    • 1. One year—first offense, Three years—second or subsequent offense.
    • 2. All offenses require a Driver Attitudinal Retraining course, a new knowledge test, and a new road test. In addition, you may be required to take a State Courts Against Road Rage (SCARR) course.
    • 3. $500-first offense, $1000-second or subsequent offense
  34. Mandatory License Suspensions (Junior Operators 6 1/2 to 18 years)

    Violation: Conviction for Driving Negligently or Recklessly/ Operating to Endanger
    1. Suspension period
    2. Reinstatement requirements
    3. Fee
    • 1. 180 days—first offense, One year—second or subsequent offense (within a three year period)
    • 2. Second and subsequent offenses require a new knowledge test, and a new road test.
    • 3. $500
  35. Criminal Offenses and Suspensions

    Criminal Conviction: Operating a motor vehicle with a suspended or revoked license
    1. Suspension period
    2. Fee
    • 1. 60 days–One year
    • 2. $500
  36. Criminal Offenses and Suspensions

    Criminal Conviction: Operating a motor vehicle without the owner’s authority /larceny of a motor vehicle
    1. Suspension period
    2. Fee
    • 1. One–Three years
    • 2. $500
  37. Criminal Offenses and Suspensions

    Criminal Conviction: Leaving the scene of an accident when a person is injured
    1. Suspension period
    2. Fee
    • 1. One–Two years
    • 2. $500
  38. Criminal Offenses and Suspensions

    Criminal Conviction: Leaving the scene of an accident involving property damage
    1. Suspension period
    2. Fee
    • 1. 60 days–One year
    • 2. $500
  39. Criminal Offenses and Suspensions

    Criminal Conviction: Operating to endanger
    1. Suspension period
    2. Fee
    • 1. 60 days–One year
    • 2. $500
  40. Criminal Offenses and Suspensions

    Criminal Conviction: Motor vehicle homicide
    1. Suspension period
    2. Fee
    • 1. 15 years–Lifetime
    • 2. $500
  41. Criminal Offenses and Suspensions

    Criminal Conviction: Vehicular manslaughter
    1. Suspension period
    2. Fee
    • 1. 15 years–Lifetime
    • 2. $500
  42. Criminal Offenses and Suspensions

    Criminal Conviction: Operating under the influence of alcohol or drugs
    1. Suspension period
    2. Fee
    • 1. One year (first), Two years (second), Eight years (third), Ten years (fourth), Lifetime (fifth)
    • 2. $500 (first), $700 (second), $1200 (third), $1200 (fourth)
  43. Criminal Offenses and Suspensions

    Criminal Conviction: Any drug-related conviction (Operation of a vehicle is not required)
    1. Suspension period
    2. Fee
    • 1. One–Five years
    • 2. $500
  44. Criminal Offenses and Suspensions

    Criminal Conviction: Defacing real or personal property, spraying paint or applying stickers or other graffiti (Operation of a vehicle is not required)
    1. Suspension period
    2. Fee
    • 1. One year (or delay of one year in obtaining a License)
    • 2. $100
  45. Criminal Offenses and Suspensions

    Criminal Conviction: Drag racing (by drivers over the age of 18)
    1. Suspension period
    2. Fee
    • 1. 30 days-180 days
    • 2. $500 - $1,000
  46. OUI_First offense

    1. Fine
    2. Prison term
    3. License suspension
    • 1. $500–$5,000
    • 2. Maximum 21/2 years
    • 3. One year
    • For your first offense, the court may allow you to complete an alcohol education course to reduce your license suspension period.
    • Over 21, 45–90 days
    • Under 21, 210 days
  47. OUI_Second offense

    1. Fine
    2. Prison term
    3. License suspension
    • 1. $600–$10,000
    • 2. Minimum 30 days, Maximum 21/2 years
    • 3. Two years
  48. OUI_Third offense

    1. Fine
    2. Prison term
    3. License suspension
    • 1. $1,000–$15,000
    • 2. Minimum 150 days, Maximum Five years
    • 3. Eight years
  49. OUI_Forth offense

    1. Fine
    2. Prison term
    3. License suspension
    • 1. $1,500–$25,000
    • 2. Minimum One year, Maximum Five years
    • 3. Ten Years
  50. OUI_Fifth offense

    1. Fine
    2. Prison term
    3. License suspension
    • 1. $2,000–$50,000
    • 2. Minimum Two years, Maximum Five years
    • 3. Lifetime
  51. You fail the Chemical Tests if Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of ...
    • 1. 0.08 or greater.
    • 2. as low as 0.02 if under 21 years
  52. License Suspension Periods for Failed Chemical Tests

    Drivers over age 21
    30 days or until the conclusion of the court case, whichever is shorter.
  53. License Suspension Periods for Failed Chemical Tests

    Drivers age 18 to 21
    30 days, plus an additional 180 days. If this is your first operating under the influence case, the 180-day suspension can be waived upon entry into a Department of Public Health (DPH) approved alcohol education program.
  54. License Suspension Periods for Failed Chemical Tests

    Drivers under age 18
    30 days, plus an additional one year. If this is your first operating under the influence case, the one-year suspension can be reduced to 180 days upon entry into a Department of Public Health (DPH) approved alcohol education program.
  55. What happens if you register an illegal BAC OR if you refuse a breathalyzer or blood test?
    The police officer is required to take away your license on the spot and give you a notice of suspension, which is effective immediately.
  56. If you have had a second or subsequent operating under the influence offense and are eligible for a hardship license or for license reinstatement and you will be required to have an Ignition Interlock Device attached to your motor vehicle, at your own expense, for how long?
    • Entire life of the hardship license and for two additional years after your license has been reinstated.
    • Every 30 days, you must return to the vendor, who will upload and transfer data from the device to the RMV.
  57. License Suspension Periods for Refusing a Chemical Test

    Drivers over age 21
    • No Prior OUI Offenses 180 days
    • One Prior OUI Offense Three years
    • Two Prior OUI Offenses Five years
    • Three or More Prior OUI Offenses Lifetime
  58. License Suspension Periods for Refusing a Chemical Test

    Drivers age 18 to 21
    • No Prior OUI Offenses Three years + 180 days (180 days can be waived)
    • One Prior OUI Offense Three years + 180 days
    • Two Prior OUI Offenses Five years + 180 days
    • Three or More Prior OUI Offenses Lifetime
    • Even if you win the case, it will not change the requirement for you to take an alcohol education course.
  59. License Suspension Periods for Refusing a Chemical Test

    Drivers under age 18
    • No Prior OUI Offenses Three years + One year (one year can be waived)
    • One Prior OUI Offense Three years + One year
    • Two Prior OUI Offenses Five years + One year
    • Three or More Prior OUI Offenses Lifetime
    • Even if you win the case, it will not change the requirement for you to take an alcohol education course.
  60. What is the Open Container Law?
    You may not drink alcohol while driving or have an open alcoholic beverage inside your vehicle, regardless of who is holding it.
  61. What is the fine for the Open Container Law offense?
    You will be fined $100 to $500. If you are under 21, you can be arrested, fined, and have your license suspended.
  62. What are the penalties for using False or Altered Licenses/Identification Cards?
    • Automatic 6 months license suspension
    • One year if convicted
  63. If you are convicted of drug possession, what happens to your license?
    Suspension for 1 to 5 years
  64. The RMV will refuse your renewal request if you have...
    • • Unpaid fines for parking violations
    • • Citations for abandoned vehicles
    • • Outstanding excise tax due in your local community
    • • Outstanding court warrants
    • • Unpaid Fast Lane violations
    • • Unpaid Tobin Bridge violations

What would you like to do?

Home > Flashcards > Print Preview