Pediatrics test 1

The flashcards below were created by user khaki06 on FreezingBlue Flashcards.

  1. Freud's stage where the infant derives pleasure largely from the mouth with sucking, eating, chewing, and mouthing objects as primary desires.
    Oral (birth to 1 year)
  2. Freud's stage where the young child's pleasure is centered with control over body secretions as a prime force of behavior.
    Anal (1 to 3 years)
  3. Freud's stage where sexual energy becomes centered in the genitalia, and with children explore touching their sexual organs.
    Phallic (3 to 6 years)
  4. Freud's stage where sexual energy is at rest in the passage between earlier stages and adolescence. The child focuses on other activities related to social and cognitive growth during this stage.
    Latency (6 to 12 years)
  5. Freud's stage when mature sexuality is achieved as physical growth is completed, sexual pleasure reemerges, and relationships develop with others outside the family.
    Genital (12 years to adulthood)
  6. Erikson's stage where the tasks is to establish trust in those providing care.
    Trust vs. Mistrust (birth to 1 year)
  7. Erikson's stage where sense of autonomy or independence is shown by controlling body excretions, saying no when asked to do something, and directing motor activity.
    Autonomy vs. Shame and doubt (1 to 3 Years)
  8. Erikson's stage where the new activities are initiated and considers new ideas. Criticism of child's activities leads to feelings of guilt and a lack of purpose.
    Initiative vs. Guilt (3 to 6 years)
  9. Erikson's stage that are characterized by development of new interests and by a focus on intellectual or cognitive pursuits.
    Industry vs. Inferiority (6 to 12 years)
  10. Erikson's stage when the body matures and thought processes become more complex, a new sends of identity or self establish.
    Identitity vs. Role Confusion (12-18)
  11. Piaget's stage when infant learns about the world by input obtained through the senses and by their motor activity.
    Sensorimotor (birth to 2 years)
  12. Piaget's stage when the child thinks by using words as symbols, but is not well developed.
    Preoperational (2 to 7 years)
  13. Piaget's stage when transductive reasoning has given way to a more accurate understanding of cause and affect.
    Concrete operational (7 to 11 years)
  14. Piaget's stage when fully mature intellectual thought has now been attained. Can think abstractly about objects  or concepts and consider different alternatives or outcomes.
    Formal Operation (11 years to adulthood)
  15. Kohlberg's stage when decisions are based on the desire to please others and to avoid punishment
    Preconventional (4 to 7 years)
  16. Kohlberg's stage when conscience or an internal set of standards becomes important, but these standards are based on the beliefs and teachings of others such as parents.
    Conventional (7 to 11 years)
  17. Kohlberg's stage when the individual has internalized ethical standards on which to base decisions, and uses awareness of the common good and ethical principles rather than relying on than the standards of others.
    PostConventional (12 years and older)
Card Set:
Pediatrics test 1
2016-10-14 14:45:37
Growth Development

Freud, Erikson, Piaget, Kohlberg
Show Answers: